We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$213
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carnson House(Penzance)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dock Inn(Penzance)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Warwick House(Penzance)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$18
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
541
233
69
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
233
69
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay restaurantsteep hillgroupon dealcar parkthe complimentary afternoon tealovely hotelrestaurant staffsea viewhonesty barst michael's mountevery afternoonno lifton arrivalshort breaklovely viewboth morningsmounts bay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelled in June - booked a superior room with sea view. The hotel is nice but be warned it isn't in a very steep hill with limited parking. You can reserve priority parking for £5 per day which was worthwhile in my view. Penzance is a good base to see all the tourist attractions in the more far flung areas of Cornwall.
There is a brasserie restaurant and terrace overlooking a small pool with views over the town and harbour. At £200 per night b&b, a little over-priced my view but average for the area and time of year I suppose. Staff were friendly and helpful. Please note there are no room safes available for valuables - perhaps the hotel would consider installing these for the future?? Overall, not bad.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a corner view, somewhat limited.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice. The first time we had a good welcome with a helpful receptionist and fresh tea and coffee. The room was small but clean and reasonably comfortable. We made the great mistake of eating in the restaurant...awful and expensive for what was on offer. The orange juice at breakfast was rather fizzy and going off. We were tied in to return a week later sadly. Learning by our mistakes, we had a Tescos meal deal from a petrol station!!!!!! The room was even smaller, rather like a cupboard with a 4ft 6in bed. The bathroom was miniscule. AND THE B AND B COST WAS £160 WHAT A RIP OFF. To cap it all we had to pay to park! NEVER AGAIN. Istay in hotels all over the world when working. This was one of the worst!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPenzance, General Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremely disappointed in your comments as we take great pride in our business and have many favourable comments about the overall aspects of guests stay including our food. I am surprised by your comments with regard to our food and will look into your meal experience with the team. I do feel you have been a little harsh implying a meal deal is better than eating in our restaurant as we have received and maintained 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence for 16 years and have many happy returning guests.
With regard to you room bookings you booked a small double on your second stay on the way back from the Isles of Scilly. The small double room overlooks the back of the hotel and the price we charge for this room is competitive in the local market place for the time of year you are travelling and we feel offers a good value for money. You commented on check out to our reception host that you thought as you booked so far in advance you would get an upgrade to a sea view free of charge. Whilst we do on occasions offer upgrades, they are not guaranteed. If you would like a sea view or larger room please ask on booking and we are more than happy to help and quote you a price accordingly.
Kind regards

Andrew Griffiths
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The room had a fantastic view over the bay. Very stylish, perhaps a bit small for what Australians are use to but lovely none the less although could get a little hot at night. The hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great. We caught the train from Liverpool so after a long journey it was great we didn't haven't too far to walk to get to our room and rest. We also discovered the bus terminal that took us virtually anywhere we wanted to go in Cornwall (stress free) and do our coastal walks.

Room Tip: we are active middle aged to walking up stairs / hill is fine with us
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chfarm2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at this incredibly comfortable & stylish hotel in Penzance. Close to the station but requires fit legs to get up Briton Hill. Charming owner who even spots her clients when out walking in Mousehole stopping to offer a lift home! Not fussy & quite understated. Deliciously cooked hot breakfast & the “honesty” bar were particular favourite features. Would highly recommend as a place to stay whilst exploring Cornwall as central to bus & train services as well as places to walk such as Mousehole.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I stayed one night here and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff were very helpful and I was surprised by a really nice vegan menu for dinner. Be prepared to get a workout on the hill up from the seafront but the view is very nice. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janehkb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews