We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor staff ”
Review of Fort Inn

Fort Inn
Ranked #56 of 264 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the edge of Newquay town and enjoying stunning views along the coast the Fort Inn is a welcoming and comfortable pub with that prides itself in catering for all members of the family from toddlers to grandparents. The Fort is also famous throughout Cornwall for its amazing Sunday carvery - a hit with all members of the family! So whatever the weather, and whatever the occasion the Fort Inn is the perfect destination for a family meal or get together
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate as a family today, the weather was great so we decided to sit in the terrace. We placed our order and waited for our food to arrive. The menus were very sticky and dirty. The food wasn’t great, the burger was burnt, meaning that was all you could taste. The wind picked up and took the umbrella, it lifted up and hit my daughter on her head. Two members of staff saw but did nothing to see if she was ok. At no point was our food checked back, so I had to go to the bar to get someone to come over. With other great places in town we won’t be returning.

Thank ShowMeTheSun89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1 556 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only stopped for drinks as we were walking some of the coastal path.
Lovely large outside dining area with plenty of shaded areas as it was very hot when we were there.
Food that came out looked good, mainly things with chips that we saw, but we would definitely return here to eat.
Great view of the harbour where there’s always lots going on.
Lovely spot.

Thank Joblurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for writing us this lovely review we greatly appreciated it. We look forward to your return where you can try our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub has had a major refurb and looks fantastic. It has a great position above Newquay harbour and views along the coastline towards Trevose Head. The staff were friendly & efficient. A pleasant experience.

Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thank Phil for this great review, it is greatly appreciated. We are delighted you like our new look and hope to see you back in here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well we thought we would give a second review of the fort as we decided on a evening meal and decided on a Friday to do it. Plenty of parking close by and if your lucky some of the car parks don’t charge you after 18.30 till 09.00 the next morning. We walked up from the car park near the cinema and there were plenty of tables to be had. The area was clean enough and the staff were always busy cleaning up. We ordered food from the bar I had a chilli burger and audra again had steak with peppercorn sauce.we were told that it may be up to a 30-40 minuet wait but we said that would be fine. We had 2 shandies while we waited and the food came after about 25-30 mins. Food was cooked well with no issues with either dish. We had a side order of onion rings and they were delicious. Although a couple behind us did complain about the time they took to get there starters but ours was spot on.

Thank RobAudra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Rob for this lovely review. We are pleased you and Audra enjoyed your food with us again and we look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The view is amazing overlooking the harbour so definitely worth a stop, even just for drink.

We stopped here for some food early evening on a Monday. It wasn’t too busy and had a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Plenty to choose from menu.

Bar inside was clean, tidy and well presented. It’s also got plenty of space both in and out. Outside again was clean and tidy, though the seagulls soon ate anything that was left on tables. I noticed two child friendly areas (one inside and one out) which were away from main areas so would say family friendly too (though don’t have children so can’t say how good the areas were).

Food arrived in the time stated (they helpfully tell you when ordering how long the current wait is for food). Portions were good.

Overall a lovely place to visit.

Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Helen for this wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see back in here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Fort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing