We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick drink”
Review of The Towan Blystra

The Towan Blystra
Ranked #103 of 263 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love this place, got off the train from par on the hottest place of the year and walked into a fantastic air conditioned place..perfect. Fantastic value for money and friendly service.

1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we do hope you return again soon!

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a Wetherspoons fan but this one needs a new management impetus. Generally drinks are OK although on last visit during gin festival the pink gin was served with no fruit whatsoever. When queried just told they had no strawberries - not mentioned on ordering. Lack of stock seems a problem and also staff talking over you to locals when being served. Generally a take it or leave it attitude. FOOD is most expensive Wetherspoons I have been in but quality poor and again low stock. Wanted to try the advertised Cornish crab salad - no crab and no pizza. Fed up by this time so ordered chicken, bacon & avocado salad - no avocado. Offered guacamole but hardly the same and when it came there was only normal salad dressing not the balsamic dressing advertised - guess what, they didn't have any. Worse still the salad consisted of lettuce leaves and raw onion - no cucumber or tomato and no apology or offer of refund. All in all OK for a drink but would not order food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank who_213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am very sorry to hear you experienced this.
Unfortunately Wetherspoon had been suffering a crab shortage from our suppliers resulting in not being able to offer it on our menus. I am pleased to say this has now been resolved.
Being a seasonal pub our prices are paired against our surrounding competitors but it still great value for money in the area.
I will investigate what happened with our stocking issues on this occasion and can assure you we will work harder to make sure we have 100% of availability at all times.
All reviews from tripadvisor are shown to our management and staff to help resolve any issues that may occur.

Again, I am very sorry you experienced this at our pub and I do hop you return to us again.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite the place being very quiet, it was extremely difficult to find a table that was was not cluttered with glasses or plates. There were plenty of staff on duty, but they had not received full training, because they would return to the kitchen empty handed, even though every table needed clearing. External (smoking) area was just as bad, with every table littered with empty glasses, even though there was no-one occupying them and they appear to have been vacated for some time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the Towan Blystra.

We appreciate any feedback we receive and work hard to try resolve any issues at hand.

I will show this review to our team and cascade the importance of first impressions and cleanliness of our pub. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will work harder to achieve a better visit for our customers.

We do hope you can return to us again soon so we can restore yoru faith in us.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a family breakfast here food was terrible had sat under the lamps for ages
when it arrived the breakfasts where all diiferent even though they where all the same
items missing differnt items that shouldnt been on there
complete waste of £20
not once did the staff come up and ask was everthing ok with your meal.
never again i`ll leave this place with the stag and hen doo crowds.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mossy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Let me start by saying I am very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience with us.

You should have received a check back for your food and we obviously missed the mark on this occasion. I can assure you further training will be given regarding customer service.

Please be assured if there are ever any problems the duty manager on at the time will be more than happy to help with any issues you may have.

I do hope you can return again so we can restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in for breakfast while visiting Newquay, Normal high Weatherspoon standard well done to all. The prices are very good and you know what you are getting at a Weatherspoon's

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Towan Blystra and do hope you return to us again soon!

Kind regards,

Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Towan Blystra also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Towan Blystra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing