We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service and shocking behaviour by a member of staff”
Review of Zaman's Restaurant

Zaman's Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 249 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We pre-booked by phone and asked if we are able to take a pizza in for our two young children due to them not taking to Indian cuisine. We were advised by the staff who spoke with us that we may. When we got there and after sitting down for barely 30 seconds we were spoken to very rudely and abruptly by a member of staff with an eye problem. We explained that we had spoken to someone who had said it was ok to bring in a pizza for the children and his response was that food from outside is not allowed. We then said we will feed the kids in the car and return for our meal. During this conversation our daughter went off to the empty table next to us (bearing in mind it is a very small space in there). This man then found it ok to go up to her and grab her by the arm to shoo her away from that table. We found his behaviour and attitude highly shocking, given that this restaurant was recommended to us by close family. We and our extended family visit cornwall very often but sadly, after this experience we will not be going into Zamans again. They know nothing of customer service and families with young children.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Amberjones2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2021

We can highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely visit again when we are next in the area.
Service was friendly and attentive.
Starters and pickle tray were very good. My wife’s Lamb Shank was delicious. I was going to select my usual Vindaloo but was recommended the Chicken Catalana as a spicy alternative. This was very tasty with a nice heat.
The BYO drinks option allows you to bring your favourite tipple and keep the cost down.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hkhk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

We had a great time at Zaman’s. Nothing was too much trouble and we encountered fabulous service despite the restaurant being very busy. Food was really tasty and very generous portions. We wouldn’t hesitate to return next time we travel to Newquay.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank E5068RWrebeccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

Had to wait over an hour to collect food as they were so busy. But worth it in the end, bit spicier than we were used to but nevertheless was great

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank iz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

We have ordered a few times and each time hoped it would be different but they will take over 3 hours to get ur food to you there are better Indians that deliver quicker

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Wistle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Zaman's Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Zaman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.