We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We look forward to staying here again next year..”
other travellers have booked this property
Aerial view of Summercourt
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of Summercourt
Exterior Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Aerial view of Summercourt
Exterior
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Play area
Around Summercourt
Around summercourt - Information room
Around Summercourt
View from Cliff opposite ( 50 meters)
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters )
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters )
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K C
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, but some misleading information sold by "Holiday Lettings".”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Granary Cottage was indeed a beautiful cottage, converted to a good standard, providing us with a pleasant stay. Holiday lettings stated "car not essential" which led us to believe it would not be too remote. This was incorrect as a car was most definitely needed! The website does not seem to mention that electricity was on a meter at a £1 a time. However it was a good lesson for the children! This is a great area to stay if you like to be away from the "hum drum" of the seaside towns, and have a car and able bodied guests that like to walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We look forward to staying here again next year..”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a special place. The best of best worlds with the blissful views of rolling countryside on one side and spectacular coastal views on the other with our perfect accommodation in the middle. The cottage was carefully prepared and a real home from home. Phil and Mac are very welcoming and know all the very places to visit and the best ways to get there. Thank you for a lovely holiday, we look forward to staying with you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome
Liked least: nothing, everything was lovely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Summercourt. Hope all is well and that you had a safe journey home.
Many thanks again.
Regards
Phil and Mac
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate0966
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful setting, off the beaten track. Great for an extended family holiday”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing week at Summercourt Cottages. We are an extended family so booked 4 cottages: Granary, Stables, Hayloft and Smithy. Communication and booking was faultless - I telephoned initially to explain our numbers and spoke to Mrs Hocking who was very helpful.

We were very comfortable in Granary with our 2 daughters, son-in-law, grandson and dog. My siblings and their families and my mum were housed in the other 3 cottages with three small dogs. All cottages were clean and very well maintained and equipped. The owners were welcoming and quick to help with our enquiries about the cottages and the local area.

I was a bit worried that our large group would overpower those in the other 2 cottages but the space was large enough for the children to be noisy at a distance in the garden with play area - in fact we never saw the occupiers of the other cottage that was rented this week.

The location is perfect; it's so peaceful and the view from Granary windows and the garden/play area is gorgeous. Across the road at Bodigga Cliff where the coastal path runs has stunning views across to Looe Island. Some of the path was closed due to a landslip but we were able to make it to the Labyrinth thanks to my husband who likes to flout the rules a little and explore. A very peaceful place for contemplation - a bit of mediaeval solution-focused therapy!

There is easy access to many of the local beaches, many of which allow dogs, and some with very steep cliff side paths. This doesn't put our family off though! The roads are narrow and a bit scary if you're not used to country driving, but there are plenty of passing places. We also visited a beautiful woodland walk at St Neots called Golitha Falls (See Trip Advisor review for the exact postcode which will take you directly there).

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. A very minor issue with regard to Smithy and Hayloft cottages is the damp in the bedrooms as these are downstairs and sort of subterranean almost, but this didn't detract from the holiday; we appreciate that these are very old buildings.

We love coming to Cornwall as a large family and would recommend Summercourt to anyone wanting a similar experience - we have rented a huge farmhouse in previous years but separate accommodation for each family gives a bit of privacy and the opportunity to do your own thing if you want. Saying that, most of the family ended up in our cottage in the evening to watch TV!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Scary small roads
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek f
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for our dog - and us!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our two week stay in Byre Cottage. This was our first visit to Summercourt - and it will not be our last.
On arrival we were greeted by Phillipa, the owner, who was very welcoming, not only to us, but also our dog, Tess and made us feel at home instantly. The cottage was very comfortable, clean and well equipped and the central heating was lovely to come back to after a day out discovering new places. There is ample parking and the lay out of the site is very pleasant with the cottages surrounding a courtyard with benches dotted around - an ideal place to sit and relax (weather permitting). There is also a laundry room and an 'information room' with lots of leaflets for ideas on places to visit and books, dvd's and games to borrow, plus a well equipped children's play area. Just across the very quiet road is Bodigga Cliffs, a lovely spot where you are asked to take your dog - it takes, maybe a minute to get there - and it is also an access point for the coastal path. Unfortunately at the time of our visit some of the coastal path had subsided but clearly marked diversions had been put in place.
We found so many lovely places to go for walks, as this is what Tess and us love to do, that I could be here all day listing them! So here are just a few that we did that we would recommend - The Clay Trail Walks, Seaton Countryside Park, Fowey Hall Park Circular Walk (good fun as you have to cross the estuary, twice, by ferry), Golitha Falls and Looe to Polperro Coastal Path Walk.
So to sum it up this was a lovely place to stay - great cottage, peaceful out of the way location and friendly, helpful owners. We all loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenan...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“OUR DREAM COTTAGE BY THE SEA”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our cottage ( brye ) was very clean and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen and bathroom. situated close to the coastal path into looe or seaton with great views of the coast line or the great british countryside. we felt at home in this cottage aftear our days out walking the dog or driveing to places in cornwall. not within walking distance to any shops or pubs but this was not a problem going into looe by car was 3 miles by road.
summercourt cottages are a safe base for a famliy and dogs looking for a peace full and adevetures holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing