We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and spacious- lots of convenient...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Reach

The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably
You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
The kitchen is well equipped and huge.
We have tried to think of everything so that you don't have to.
The Rangemaster double oven gas cooker is really great for master chef creations.
The art work found throughout the property is by local artists.
The twin room is great for children when they are ready for a good night's sleep.
We have been told by many guests that our beds are really comfy.
The ensuite kingsize room is great place to escape to  and relax on the reclining sofa.
Both kingsize rooms have flat screen TVs,DVD players and hairdryers..
All of our rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard.
The ensuite bathroom has an electric Mira shower, the best shower on the planet.
Sit out on the enclosed terrace which is a real suntrap in the afternoon and evenings.
Captain's Reach was built in the late 1800's as a Captain's home.
Look out for the slate Captain's Reach sign above the porch doors.
Only two doors away from our property this pub serves excellent food.
This is a view from outside the house we look forward to seeing you soon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Journey73...
1 review
“Beautiful and spacious- lots of convenient touches!”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

House was beautiful, clean and spacious- it was so nice to not be crowded in a hotel room for a whole week. Gaye welcomed us with scones, jam and cream! The WIFI and satellite TV worked perfectly and we enjoyed them daily. Having the washer and dryer on hand helped us pack less for the two week trip. The house is four levels up from the shop level of Falmouth but Gaye told us how to get around this by walking down the nearby steps and getting a cab back up. This is easy, fast and inexpensive. My Dad (who smokes) really enjoyed having the little garden area to hang out in. Having the Sea View Inn two doors down was wonderfully convenient. While parking was challenging, we still managed to find parking spots right near the house after our daily excursions.During our week in Cornwall, we visited the Maritime Museum, St Michaels Mount, Bodmin Railway, St Mawes Castle, Pendennis Castle, Cape Cornwall Area and Poldark Mine. Falmouth makes a great base from which to explore the county. Fantastic trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thank you for you wonderful feed-back we are so glad that you chose us as the base to stay for your trip from USA and that you managed to cram so much into it! We would love you to come back and stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M9304PPri...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great property, great location”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic property. Very well equipped with everything you would expect and a lot more besides. Property is very close to centre of Falmouth for shops, eateries, ferry to St Mawes etc. Owner very helpful. Lots to do in local area and we easily filled a week with two young children with variable weather. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to Falmouth soon to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john o
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“better than excellent”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

my family and i have just returned from captains reach,
the house is beautiful,far better than the pictures in the ad
everything you could possibly require and more is supplied
even toys for our grandchildren aged 3 and six months,
gaye the owner is a wonderful lady and could not do enough
to help.
our granddaughter chloe fell in love with a toy penguin in the
toys supplied, gaye insisted she take him home.
if you are looking for a perfect place to stay in cornwall please form a que.

love and best wishes to gaye and her partner
from the o'connor family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
We are delighted that you felt so at home and that you felt everything was above just standard. Hope Chloe brings her penguin back to visit us in Falmouth very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathfinde...
1 review
“First class accommodation with great attention to detail.”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Gaye was an extremely lovely person, helpful but not intrusive. The house was beautifully decorated with some outstanding contemporary artwork. As far as we could see everything we could require was available in the house plus more. First visit to Falmouth for many years. This time our children and partners, not forgetting our beautiful one year old grandson came too. All my paternal ancestors came from Cornwall. My husband and I have spent many holidays based in Falmouth, some with my late parents. My father was brought up in Falmouth and moved to Scotland after the War when he married his wartime sweetheart. We were only down for a week but visited the Maritime Museum in Events Square and had many dinners in a variety of good restaurants. We also payed visits to the Eden Project, Durgan, Truro Cathedral and spent a day in St. Ives. Altogether a wonderful time was had by all and the ultra comfortable home from home was a bonus.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
We are so glad that your enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back much sooner than the last time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pharr2280...
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful location for a relaxing comfortable place to explore South West Cornwall.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed here before, and would book it again. Very high standard of comfort and cleanliness which has been maintained. Great location to explore South West Cornwall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish interior but fully equipped for a very comfortable stay.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review, it is always good to have repeat visitors, and even better to know that our standards are being maintained. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing