We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting and different exhibitions”

National Maritime Museum Cornwall
Ranked #11 of 60 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With over 15 galleries, a boatbuilding workshop, exciting new exhibitions every year, interactive exhibits and a collection that spans The National Small Boat collection, artworks, maps and charts, memorabilia and other objects there’s plenty to explore. Located in a breathtaking location overlooking aptly named Discovery Quay in the centre of Falmouth, The National Maritime Museum Cornwall is an award winning museum celebrating the sea. New exhibitions for 2017!!! Tattoo: The History of British Tattoo Art Revealed A genuinely ground-breaking and comprehensive history of British tattooing, featuring cutting edge designers, leading academics and major private collectors. This is the largest gathering of real objects and original tattoo artwork ever assembled in the UK featuring over 400 original artworks, photographs and historic artefacts. Until 7 January 2018. Captain Bligh: Myth, Man and Mutiny Step into the sights and sounds of one the greatest survival feats in British history. Exploring Bligh's Cornish roots, challenging the Hollywood depcitions and bringing to life on of the greatest small boat survival stories. Until 7 January 2018. New Play Zone! - Awesome Adventurers Go on an awesome adventure this summer. Inspired by the heroic voyages of exploration by ships such as Captain Bligh’s HMS Bounty, join the crew of HMS Adventure in our Play Zone to explore the Pacific Islands. Open May - December 2017.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited last year for the tattoo exhibition and made a special trip back this year to see the Titanic one. Both were exciting and informative, focussed on topics not often represented in other attractions and including lots of personal anecdotes with a heavy focus on social history. The museum is fantastic value for money as your ticket allows you free entry again for the entire year so was able to see both exhibits and only pay for one.

The cafe is also reasonably priced and has fabulous views and we loved walking down the tower to look at what hides below the tide-line!

Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"maritime museum"
in 145 reviews
"captain bligh"
in 43 reviews
"lookout tower"
in 31 reviews
"below sea level"
in 30 reviews
"tidal zone"
in 22 reviews
"rainy day"
in 104 reviews
"model boats"
in 21 reviews
"all ages"
in 121 reviews
"life raft"
in 20 reviews
"jet ski"
in 20 reviews
"fish swimming"
in 17 reviews
"main hall"
in 17 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 36 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 21 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 105 reviews
"top floor"
in 32 reviews
"high tide"
in 28 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 1 707 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice welcome from staff, fantastic views from the lookout at the top floor and informative exhibitions. But I expected moore, maybe I'm spoiled from seeing a couple of really good similar museums. If I had visited with kids I would probably been more enthusiastic, because there are a lot of interresting things to do with kids there.

Thank Johanna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to see the Titanic exhibition.. it was amazing! So much information and the lookout at the top was brilliant.

Thank ocribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the museum specifically to see the Titanic Exhibition. It's very well done and retells the story in great detail. It's quite emotional to read the accounts. I was appalled to learn that, on the day Titanic sank, White Star ceased to pay wages. The crew of the Carpathia however were awarded an extra months pay for their part in the rescue.
I can only recommend this exhibition, perhaps the best to date. Don't expect to be uplifted in any way though.
If seeing the accounts and memorabilia causes empathy, and a little distress for those who lost their lives, at least they will be remembered, for a while.
Well done Maritime Museum.

Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited the museum on several occasions. Generally to view the new exhibitions whether it is the Vikings or tattoos. We will definitely go again and also take advantage of the free revisit offer within a year.

Thank Antony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Maritime Museum Cornwall also viewed

 

Been to National Maritime Museum Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing