We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood restaurant with harbour views”
Review of Chain Locker

Chain Locker
Ranked #56 of 261 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Following a sensitive yet spectacular restoration the Chain Locker, on Falmouth’s historic quayside will reopen in early September 2017. The newly renovated interiors will combine stylish and contemporary dining with the original and distinctive charm of the 16th century inn believed to be one of Falmouth’s oldest buildings. The first floor will provide unrivalled waterside views of the bustling key and spectacular natural beauty of Carrick Roads with two fantastic new balconies perfect for dining alfresco. On the ground floor the original bar has been refreshed and brought back to its former glory retaining the ambience that locals and visitors love. Our new menus combine pub classics with enticing specials making the most of the freshest seasonal ingredients. Behind the bar you will find locally brewed beers, west country ciders, fine wines by the glass, classic cocktails and barista coffees. Manager Nathan Boundy and the team look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed 30 September 2018

A great way to celebrate our last night in Falmouth. Excellent " can do" team who gave us a very nice table with views over the harbour. A great choice of seafood and we were not disappointed. Although part of the St Austell Brewery it had the feel of a privately run establishment. Impressed with their mixed seafood dish - very filling and alas no room for the excellent choice of desserts. Tucked away down a side street but well worth finding. Be careful of the spiral staircase.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bobjo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for the review. We are delighted we were able to help you celebrate your last night in Falmouth. We do hope to see you return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018

We first visited the Chain Locker in August this year while visiting friends nearby. Enjoyed the vibe sat outside with drinks while listening to a live band.
So, when we stayed nearby for a week this month, it was natural to return on a Saturday afternoon. We weren't disappointed, in fact it was slightly better in as much as there were less people with folks having returned home for their children to return to school. Never the less it was still busy with a buzzing atmosphere and a solo artist singing happily away outside.
We eventually moved inside having decided to try the food. We stayed downstairs having decided we'd left it too late to try the upstairs restaurant. Never the less, the bar menu was pretty good for all tastes and we opted for the seafood platter to share.
When it arrived we didn't think it would fit on the table but, happily it did and even better it fitted into our stomachs...........okay, we had to wait a while to let it settle before attempting to move but, our hunger was definitely satisfied by a delicious selection of seafood.
The bar offers a good selection of soft and alcoholic beverages/spirits as well as wines and coffees. As the afternoon drew into the evening the bar became much busier but, not in a bad way at all - a happy place filled with happy people!!
If you're visiting Falmouth this is definitely a place to be visited where you'll receive a warm welcome but then...............that's Cornwall.....Innit?

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank A3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you so much for such a positive review and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the Chain Locker and we are glad you love Cornwall as much as we do! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We had a great weekend in room 6. Sea views out of every window, well worth the premium. The room was small but had all we needed except for shelf space in the bathroom. Couldn’t find anywhere to put stuff. We had the seafood sharing platter for lunch, wow, enjoyed it so much. Breakfast was a disappointment however. No proper fresh fruit, a dried up pomegranate doesn’t count I’m afraid. Would have loved pancakes but they were not on offer. Enjoyed the entertainment on the Saturday afternoon too. All in all we decided we love Falmouth and when we come again will definitely choose the Chain Locker.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Many thanks for the 5* feedback provided following recent visit, it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided, the view really is stunning. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for a family lunch as it looked so nice by the harbour.
We decided to sit upstairs, outside on the balcony as the weather was fine.
It took a little while to get seated and order, but we were in no rush.
We ordered drinks, salads and something from the Specials menu.
Food was very nice and tasty with refreshing cool drinks.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you Stan for this great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We enjoyed a meal here on the start of our holiday in Cornwall. It is disabled friendly as there is a lift to the restaurant on the first floor. The food was good and arrived promptly. The portions were generous, and the waiting staff were very helpful

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank aissiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you so much for this 5* review, it is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chain Locker also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Perranarworthal, Truro District
 
Ponsanooth, Cornwall
Frogpool, Truro District
 

Been to Chain Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing