We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property - highly recommended for those...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

angeladX4...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic property - highly recommended for those visiting Chester”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked this property for a girls weekend to celebrate my friends 40th birthdays. I choose this property because it looked stylish and had a bit of the wow factor - it didn't disappoint! The house is in the perfect location being an easy 10 minute walk into the city centre. It is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Thoughtful little touches such as fresh bread and milk on arrival were a pleasant surprise. From the moment I enquired about the property the owner, Melanie, was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this property and hope that we can return in the future. Chester itself is excellent for shopping, eating out and dancing!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Hello Angela - thank you for your kind comments about the House at Waters Edge. It's lovely to know that you had a wonderful time and I'm happy that you have some fab memories to cherish about your friend's birthday. I hope you come back too as you were such great guests and we were lucky to have you visit - thank you.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edna S
2 reviews
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Spent a weekend in this fab house with friends We have a girlie weekend every year and this is probably the nicest cleanest house we have stayed inThe decor and furnishings are exquisite Thank you you Melanie it is a credit to you I have told all my friends about and you may get bookings from them in the future

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor furnishings and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothong
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Edna - thank you so much. It's lovely to know that you so enjoyed your stay. You were wonderful and thoughtful guests and I hope to welcome you back again one day in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScurrs
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent family break in superb accommodation”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a lovely long weekend with our family in Chester, made all the more enjoyable by our stay at The House, Waters Edge.
This very comfortable and well equipped property exceeded all expectations, being beautifully decorated and immaculately maintained, as well as in a great location overlooking the canal and only a short walk into the city centre. The House was ideal for us (6 adults and 2 very young grandchildren) and great to have 3 bathrooms.
Melanie, the owner, was really helpful during the booking process and was able to provide 2 travel cots and high chairs. It's apparent a lot of thought has gone into ensuring guests' comfort and we found the 'welcome pack' a very thoughtful addition.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone looking for superior accommodation in a central location.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your lovely review.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D
1 review
“Great property in a great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A lovely property in a great location in Chester. There property is bright, spacious and well maintained and within easy walking distance of the city centre. The city walls are literally minutes away. There were 5 adults and one child in our party and there was plenty of room for us all. A buggy and travel cot was provided as well which was great. The owner Melanie is also really helpful and available to answer any questions. We were originally due to stay in December but were unable to travel on the day due to a storm. Melanie let us rearrange until February and again until April as the train line was still closed! We really appreciated this flexibility. I would highly recommend this property and will definitely stay again on our next visit.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Glad we finally got you here Pauline and you were able to enjoy the lovely city of Chester. It's always nice to know the House at Waters Edge worked so well for you and your family.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matjan50
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous house !”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in the house for 3 nights over new year , there were six adults and a child. There was plenty of room and the house was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the key was not there on arrival but this was rectified quickly. There was a lovely welcome pack left. The house is in a fantastic position overlooking the canal and within walking distance of Chester center. We liked it so much we have booked to go again.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Great to know you enjoyed yourselves so much that you are coming back again. It's always nice to hear that house works so well for a family group of three generations and you had a lovely New Year. Apologies again about the key collection fitting in with your early arrival. Fortunately I'm only ever a phone call away. We shall be doubly vigilant and at the ready for your next visit in Spring - I think the baby ducklings will be trying out their water wings on the canal!
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.