We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Practically perfect”

Review of The Tack Room

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

GlasgowDa...
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Practically perfect”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at the Tack Room for 4 nights during school holidays. Wanted a base near Chester to visit family and enjoy the area. Originally planned on booking a hotel but with a 6-year-old, evenings cooped up in a hotel room didn't fill me with joy! Having looked into available holiday cottages, The Tack Room caught my eye and I was NOT disappointed. Cottage had everything we could need - off-street parking, great kitchen, comfy sitting room (with TV, DVDs, books and a selection of toys for kids). Bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated. Our 6-y-o diva daughter was especially pleased to have her own en-suite and it was a lovely touch that Clare (the owner) had left a soft-toy rabbit for her on her bed.

Location was great with short journeys to Chester, Cheshire Oaks and Chester Zoo to name a few.

Greyhound Inn (pub) is only two minutes away and also friendly welcome there.

Couldn't fault the accommodation and we look forward to booking again and returning soon.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I was looking for top notch self-catering accommodation in the Chester area for myself and a friend who I hadn't seen in a long time. The property needed to have at least 2 bedrooms and a bathroom each. The Tack Room stood out head and shoulders above the rest in my search and certainly ticked all our boxes. In fact, it almost sounded too good to be true!

However, it was everything and more than we were expecting and we couldn't fault it at all. Clare was very welcoming and friendly and had obvious pride in her management of the Tack Room. As other guests have already said, it was an exceptionally stylish home from home and also very warm and cosy.

Perfectly placed for Chester and Cheshire Oaks. You won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 large en-suite bedrooms and stylish decor
Liked least: Sloped deep shingled drive
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnagPaw
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for two nights over the Chester marathon weekend and had a really good stay. The quality of the accommodation is top notch and exceeded our expectations considering the rate per night. We had everything we needed and every room was very comfortable. Clare provided a travel cot, stair gate, loads of puzzles and drawing books for our two and half year old daughter which was really great. We'll definitely stay here again when we're in Chester again and have recommended it to our friends.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds & beautiful kitchen
Liked least: Gravel drive was a bit tricky
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia-Ze...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

When we arrived at the tack room we fell in love with it straight away. Brilliantly decorated by Clare. It had everything we needed and more. It's home from home! We was very comfortable and so pleased. It has a brilliant location just 10 mins to chester cost £8 in a taxi. Down the road from the cottage there is a coop food and a pub. I will definitely be returning!!

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbsnott...
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The tack room is a really lovely place to stay. Spotlessly clean and the decor is just stunning.

There is everything you need and more in there. Lots of little thoughtful extras.

In the kitchen there is every thing u need to cook. There was tea and coffee, hot chocolate and lots of condiments in the cupboards.

Everything that u need.

There is a local coop just a walk down the road. And it's extremely close to Cheshire oaks shopping outlet.

Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.