We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Log burning stove.
View of river Dee looking towards Chester  from downstairs.
Downstairs toilet and shower cubicle.
Bedroom with king-size bed overlooking river Dee.
Upstairs ensuite toilet
Spare bed at top of spiral staircase not suitable for young children.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sandra k
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from 4 night stay at Driftwood cottage. What a lovely cottage in a perfect spot. Betty and John had thought of everything to make our stay wonderful.
Chester is a very pretty and historic city and the cottage is in the perfect place to explore it. We highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Hi Sandra
so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and many thanks for you kind review.
regards
Betty and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything you need & more with a perfect view. Just a great place to stay in lovely Chester. Will definitely be back. The owners deserve all the great reviews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Great design. Great views.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank you for you kind review ,so glad you enjoyed the cottage and Chester.More than happy to have you back.
regards
Betty &John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H
Dronfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We only had one problem with this cottage and that was we didn't want to leave!
We arrived on the Monday and let ourselves in to find a lovely bottle of wine and some sweets on the table and a loaf of bread and some milk in the kitchen. They were lovely little touches but then this cottage is full of lovely little touches and everything you could possibly want for a lovely holiday.
Loved looking at the river and all the birds and it really is a stones throw from Chester.
A warm, cosy, clean home from home, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Sorry for being so late with our response don't know what happened.So glad you were able to enjoy the cottage and your stay in Chester.Would be more than happy for you to come back sometime.
Regards John&Elizabeth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art H
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location - Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a week long Narrowboat Tour we booked this apartment for a week in Chester to relax and explore Chester. We could not have been happier with this spot. It is close to everything and SO comfortable. We have rented apartments in cities all over the world, and without a doubt this was the best equipped. It had everything we needed. We enjoy cooking and brought spices and other things that are often not included, but we need not have bothered, because everything was here. Very modern and tastefully decorated, we felt right at home. We were amazed at how quiet the apartment was being next to a busy road, but there was not a noise - good windows I think!.

In short, this was an amazing place to stay for a week. We loved it! Thanks for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked how well equipped the aprartment was
Liked least: The stairs are cool and very stylish, but a bit hard to carry suitcases up.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, so glad you had a great stay at our cottage and in Chester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Driftwood Cottage for our anniversary and it was an amazing experience. Located a 2 minute walk from the city centre this immaculate little cottage is the perfect stay for 2-3 people. I would reccomend this place to anybody!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
So glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the cottage, and thank you for your kind comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing