We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Accodation and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Log burning stove.
View of river Dee looking towards Chester  from downstairs.
Downstairs toilet and shower cubicle.
Bedroom with king-size bed overlooking river Dee.
Upstairs ensuite toilet
Spare bed at top of spiral staircase not suitable for young children.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
emma t
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Accodation and location”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I would recommend to stay at Driftwood Cottage.
This is a beautiful and cosy property. I will definately be returning.
Each morning we ate breakfast by the window whilst feeding the ducks on the river.
It is a 5 minute walk into chester where everything is you need.
The property is beautiful inside and has all the facilities you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomdation
Liked least: none all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you from us and the ducks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afletcher...
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy riverside cottage.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in this delightful cottage. The location is lovely overlooking the river and we enjoyed watching the birds from the window. Immaculately clean, comfy beds and everything you could need for a holiday, the photo's do not do it justice. Only a short walk over the bridge to the shops. Would recommend a visit to the Cathedral and Chester zoo. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liltz
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute cottage with ideal location and pretty views!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over New Year from 29 Dec 14-1 Jan 15. We always go away for New Year as our anniversary lands on the 1st and as a young couple who aren't big on night life, we always struggle to find places which are not going to be OTT. I booked this cottage despite never visiting Chester before and it was absolutely lovely.
Before we even got there, communication was great and when we arrived a bottle of wine, bread and milk were left to get us started. The cottage itself was so tiny, perfect for a couple and was beautifully decorated - the added Xmas decorations were really sweet! My boyfriend loved playing with the log burner and we got a supply of wood to get us going but you could buy more from the garage up the road.
The cottage didn't have parking so unfortunately, had to park up the hill but the weather was decent despite the time of year so the walk to/from the car was pleasant. There is a window in the cottage which overlooks the river which I thought was lovely and it was literally a stones throw away from Chester centre. We also visited Chester Zoo which was about 15-20 mins away so cannot stress how great the location was.
Honestly so pleased with our stay, I wanted to stay longer and me and my boyfriend will definitely be coming back! Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamb60
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This cottage has everything going for it- a fantastic view across the river Dee, easy walking into the centre of town and an attractively furnished interior. The owners are very generous ; providing you with everything you could possibly need for an enjoyable stay.
Ten out of ten !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was excellent
Liked least: a brighter bedside reading lamp would be nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
openwide8...
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I'd rate this 10/5, it's that good.”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Driftwood cottage after reading reviews on here. The photos don't do it justice, it is absolutely stunning inside.
Once we'd booked, Betty and John answered all our emails promptly, answering all our questions and giving very useful advice. Unfortunately, neither of them were able to meet us on arrival, but thanks to their instructions, we had no problems finding either the cottage or the car parking. Betty phoned to check whether we needed any help finding the cottage, but by then we were safely snug inside.
There is a lovely shower room downstairs, which also houses a washing machine and dryer. The kitchen is fully equipped, including a dishwasher, so no washing up to do! There is coffee and tea, butter and sugar, and a very thoughtful chilled bottle of wine in the fridge, along with milk and ham. Fresh bread too.
The bed was lovely and comfortable, and I found a hair dryer and straighteners in the wardrobe. The en suite loo and wash basin are a bonus.
We enjoyed breakfast each morning looking out over the river. It's very peaceful and quiet, yet a 10 minute walk over the Old Dee bridge brings you into the Chester Rows. We took a boat trip on the river on the Sunday, a lovely bright sunny day, and thoroughly enjoyed watching the various rowing clubs practicing.
What really made this cottage a cut above the rest were the personal touches provided by Betty and John.
After we'd returned home, we received a message to tell us we'd left a pair of shoes and a pair of slippers behind. Betty and John posted them on to us, and wouldn't accept payment for postage. Now that's a lovely gesture.
I'm not sure if we'll be returning to the area anytime soon, but we'd thoroughly recommend Driftwood cottage to anyone who is.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing