We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JaneS3650
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

You couldn't ask for better amenities, better position or a more delightful place to stay. This has everything you could possibly require, is very comfortable and centrally placed. Even though I have severe advanced arthritis, the stairs, whilst steep are very manageable. Thank you for a wonderful rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and situation of the flat
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettyswe...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A fab hideaway in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed at this delightful little apartment in Chester in March for a week, getting the keys was very easy, the property is very central yet hidden from view, with the exception of the bars on each side of the property being noisy over the weekend it was extremely quiet, you are literally in the centre of Chester so close to everything. The apartment itself was very pretty, not huge but more than adequate for myself, and has everything you need for a relaxing stay, I would definitely stay here again when I come back to Chester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bar noise
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny O
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quirky, cute and cosy..”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great little apartment in the heart of Chester. Perfectly located for shops and restaurants.
The apartment is perfect for a couple or a family with older kids. It has lots of character and possibly the steepest staircase you are likely to climb but if you can do it, it is worth it..the host was great and Left us milk, bread and a bottle of wine which was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character
Liked least: Furniture a little dated
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steelmagn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful little apartment”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment was the perfect location for our stay in Chester. It's located right in the heart of the town, just walk out the front door, then through the black entrance door and it's all there; shops, café's, restaurants and sights to see and all within walking distance. Three of us stayed in the apartment, myself, my husband and our 14 year old son and there was plenty of room. The kitchen is well equipped with a fantastic washer/dryer which was very easy to use. The owner Peter is friendly and helpful as well. If you visit during the summer months, do try to make it to a moonlight flicks in the Roman Gardens, we saw Some Like it Hot one evening and it was fantastic!! My family and I highly recommend this lovely, comfy, clean and well located apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky property in superb location...”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I love city breaks where we can leave the car and can explore on foot, and if this is your sort of holiday too, I would strongly recommend this property to you as it provides the best possible base-camp to do this from.

It's a good thing Pete was there to meet us as it's incredibly easy to miss the tiny black door that goes into the narrow passageway which eventually leads to the front door of the flat.

This is absolutely not a criticism, however, as the alley-way ensures you are a good distance from Watergate Street, which even though is mostly pedestrianised, is used by people who are out in the evening and in the night and can be a little noisy.

We slept every single night with the bedroom window open, and we were more disturbed by the works taking place across the way (new student accommodation being built), but this began at a reasonable 8am in the morning so this really wasn't a problem.

The apartment itself is lovely and quirky...the kitchen is modern and reasonably well equipped and Pete had kindly bought us a pint of milk which was in the fridge.

The living room is spacious and has a nice large comfy sofa (also a bed) and a good sized TV with a fair number of digital channels. We used the DVD player a couple of times too - always useful when the TV schedule is being rubbish - the one thing we missed here was a DVD remote, although we may simply not have found it (and I didn't ask).

The bedroom is very small and you have to prepare for some clambering about to get in and out if you are sleeping next to the wall, but that's all part of the quirkiness! Despite the compact size there was still wardrobe space and mirrors for hair etc.

The bathroom is the only room that hasn't really been modernised yet, but this isn't a problem as it was perfectly functional. The only thing I would have improved is the shower head, which really didn't provide an adequate spray and could do with being replaced, but the bath is large and you wouldn't run out of hot water anyway so it's absolutely not a deal breaker.

The windows are all lovely original sash-rope windows, which some may find a little old-school if you are used to UPVC, and it does let a lot of noise in. The weather was fantastic when we stayed, but I can imagine it being a little chilly in winter - however it's fully centrally heated and we used this on the day we arrived (the coldest day) and the apartment had warmed up in just 30 minutes.

The property is close to a beer garden which is quite small, but you can hear conversations from this garden with the lounge window closed. No problems at all for us, as we tended to be up until 11pm or so watching TV anyway, and the pub closes its doors at around 11pm then, and the noise went away.

Location wise, this place cannot be beaten. You step out onto Watergate Street and just 30 seconds up the street you are outside a Sainsbury's (open late). A further 30 seconds and you are standing in a large open area with Northgate/Eastgate/Westgate street all converging on that point.

From there you can get to any of the main city centre attractions within a further five minute walk...of course there are the raised shops which are marvellous, but the walls are also magnificant (we walked all but the 100 metres or so that are closed off for repair), and you are only 10 minutes from the River Dee boat rides too.

I'd thoroughly recommend staying in The Retreat as it's a very well presented property situated in the best place possible for exploring a fantastically pretty and very walkable city centre - plus it's just 10 minutes away from Chester Zoo! What more could you want?!

Top Tips:

- Property probably best suited to couples due to space available
- The stairs leading up to the property are INCREDIBLY STEEP and they turn a corner at the top, the rope comes in handy, but you have to be very careful if you are bringing in luggage
- Arriving on the day, aim for 6pm onwards and park your car in Weaver Street. This is surprisingly close to the apartment and parking is free there until the next morning at 8am. Pete will kindly explain the parking scenario to you, but we never paid for parking during our stay and the car was never more than a 3 minute walk away
- If you can, eat at The Watergate Bar - this is a fantastic pub serving good quality food but the atmosphere is superb, and the cellar walls are exposed and have been left as they were all those years ago
- Do the ghost walk - it's a little pricey but worth it for a condensed and interesting history lesson with some spooky stories thrown in (http://www.ghostcity.co.uk/)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfortable living accommodation (home from home vibe), Chester itself
Liked least: Some background noise during the day, some from road, other from works taking place (not permanent)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing