We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second lovely stay”

Review of Oak barns

Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Enjoy a relaxing night's rest in the comfortable, king sized bed in double bedroom Enjoy a relaxing drink on the terrace after an enjoyable family day out in Cheshire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Enjoy a relaxing night's rest in the comfortable, king sized bed in double bedroom
Enjoy a relaxing drink on the terrace after an enjoyable family day out in Cheshire
The owner's family enjoying the stunning countryside
Breathtaking country views
Excellent restaurants in the area and in the village
Oak Barns with fabulous views of the Cheshire countryside
Lounge with comfy sofas and flat screen digital t.v.
Spacious family accommodation sleeps 6
Lovely countryside views whilst relaxing on the patio
Spacious dining area with a fully equipped modern kitchen
First floor twin bedded room with comfy beds
Ground floor twin bedroom with adjoining family bathroom.  Ideal if you cannot manage the stairs.
Bright and sunny dining area
Plenty of fresh air and space for the children to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jean C
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Second lovely stay ”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our second year here was just as good as last year.
Lovely clean, comfortable, quiet home from home.
Comfy beds. Really well equipped.
Cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 2 showers, bath, patio with barbecue and seating for 8.
Loved sitting down as a family at the huge dining table to eat and play games.
Lots to see and do within half an hours drive. We love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
It was really nice to read your review and to know that our standards still remain the same. Thank you for that. The Oak Barns are great for families and there are plenty of things to see and do not just in Chester but in Cheshire as well. Hope that you will return again. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Oak Barns. My husband and I love to stroll along the River Dee as well with our small dog. The countryside is beautiful and yet we are only about 7 miles from Chester itself. Thanks again for the review. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pete2poin...
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed at Oak barns whilst visiting family at Christmas. Lovely dog and child friendly accommodation in lovely area. Really nice and helpful owner. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Oak Barns. As a dog lover myself I have always welcomed well behaved pets. My husband and I regularly walk our dog in the beautiful countryside around the Village of Farndon as well as along the riverside. Thank you again for your review. Jayne Wilson, Owner of the Oak Barns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qca Q
1 review
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our workers needed some where to stay after a long day working at Chester racecourse.
everyone was really helpful in the booking of Oak Barns.

If we get the job next year will book this place again

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
I am delighted that your company enjoyed their stay in the Oak Barns. I look forward to accommodating your company another time. Thank you for the review. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodltrav...
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“It fully met our expectations and we enjoyed it.”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The property was exactly as described in the prospectus and very clean. As we were staying with our daughter, son in law and 15 month old grandson, we asked for a stair gate, high chair and travel cot which were all put out for us. Quite understandably a cot mattress was not provided but was easy to put in the car at home.

As with other previous users, the grandparents were in the twin room downstairs and the family had the use of the double room and the twin bedded room upstairs. The kitchen and lounge areas are generously proportioned and the the dishwasher, washing machine and oven were put to good use. A small criticism would be that the grill is not very powerful - it works but it is slow. There was an early issue with the wifi but the owner, Jayne Wilson, sorted it and there were no subsequent problems. The fridge freezer is very efficient and a decent size for the property.

The village is a five minute walk away and there is a chemist, two pubs, a butcher/ deli ( lovely sausages!) a newspaper shop and a restaurant.

Chester is around 20 minutes away as is Wrexham and we all had an enjoyable stay with plenty to occupy us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfortable and peaceful. The knowledge that if something were to go wrong, the owner was readily contactable and with the capability to put it right.
Liked least: The grill.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. The large twin bedded room together with the adjacent bathroom on the ground floor are ideal for guests who cannot manage the stairs. It is a nice private area off the hall from the lounge. Delighted that you enjoyed the sausages from our local butcher in the village! Thanks again - Jayne Wilson - Property Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing