We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended.”

Review of Vine Cottage

Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Front of the cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Front of the cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Dining room
Lounge
Conservatory from the Courtyard
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Internal staircase
Conservatory/Dining Area
Kitchen
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
dmax66
Ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here for a week and had a very nice time. Nice welcome from the owners who live next door and a nice arrival pack including milk, wine, apple juice and tea etc.

The cottage is well situated within easy reach of Chester, Liverpool, Cheshire Oaks and Wales.

Located in a quiet residential area with a pub at the top of the road which was child friendly and reasonable.

Cottage spotlessly clean and has absolutely everything we needed.

Nice to have breakfast in the conversatory in the morning.

After a busy day exploring
exploring and having dinner, back to the cottage for a
film and a few drinks.

We self catering most years and Vine Cottage is one of the very best.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentTrave...
kent
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, a real home from home.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We have just enjoyed a great week at the very aptly named Vine Cottage. It is tastefully decorated and furnished and is equiped and maintained to a very high standard. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and made sure we had everything we could possibly need, including a lovely welcome basket full of goodies.

The cottage is well placed for local amenities. There are shops and two pubs within 10 minutes walking distance and a major supermarket with a fuel station less than 10 minutes drive. The centre of Chester is 2 miles away and easy to get to. The cottage has a detailed folder with all the information on how to access local amenities and, as Peter and Wendy are local, they are happy to give any advice if needed. The cottage also has plenty of information for those that wish to explore further afield, in fact we got so engrossed in the walking books, we left it too late to go out!!

We were visiting relatives in the area so we are very familiar with all the region has to offer, but, if you have never visited the north-west before, this cottage is an ideal base to explore this part of the UK. Chester Zoo, the world oldest zoolological gardens is just a few minutes either by car or on foot. The city of Chester is worthy of at least a day to take in all it's glories. We crossed the fields and walked into the city along the tow path of the Shropshire Union Canal, a route I have never taken before. Liverpool is accessible by road or train and other towns and cities in the region can be easily accessed by road. For cyclists, a good network of cycle paths exists in Chester and for walkers and cyclists alike there is plenty of exploring to do in North Wales, Wirral and Cheshire. The North Wales Coast is easy to access and the Lake District is about a one and a half hour drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of equipment and furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekerrys...
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a lovely weekend at Vine cottage.The cottage was beautiful and Peter and Wendy made it extra special with all the finishing touches.We were glad of the welcome basket of goodies and the milk in the fridge after our journey.The out side of the cottage looked stunning with all the vine leaves and big bunches of purple grapes hanging,which we could pick and eat.Our only regret is that we could not stay longer as we were there for a family wedding.Peter was even kind enough to drive us to he venue. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanEllis
Caernarfon, Cymru
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Convenient, Welcoming, Well equipped and effortless.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Location was amazing for Chester Zoo for our son'r birthday. The owners are friendly and accommodating, supplying a basket of goodies on arrival, a stair gate and cot . The house has everything yu need and more. Including a stocked herb garden and Jacuzzi bath! All in all very good value, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to ALL who are visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn1968
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Chester and surrounding area!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Had a great week here, cottage was in a great location for both Chester and the surrounding area either by car or public transport, 2 pubs and shops within walking distance, a comfy and cosy place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$567
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing