We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to dine”

Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #35 of 608 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Description: Here at Goodwin's Chester we are passionate about serving real, honest food and famous for the very best steaks prepared and seasoned with our signature spice blend. Everything is cooked to perfection by our expert Grill Masters. Our bread is baked in house and our cocktails are inspired. We are perfectly located near to Cheshire Oaks retail park & Chester Zoo. Adjacent to Chester Countess Hospital and a stones throw from Chester University. You will experience expertly grilled food, breads baked in house, ice cold beers & cocktails, great wines & craft beers, fresh salads & signature desserts. Everything here is made with love and born of Fire & Ice.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at Goodwin's Chester we are passionate about serving real, honest food and famous for the very best steaks prepared and seasoned with our signature spice blend. Everything is cooked to perfection by our expert Grill Masters. Our bread is baked in house and our cocktails are inspired. We are perfectly located near to Cheshire Oaks retail park & Chester Zoo. Adjacent to Chester Countess Hospital and a stones throw from Chester University. You will experience expertly grilled food, breads baked in house, ice cold beers & cocktails, great wines & craft beers, fresh salads & signature desserts. Everything here is made with love and born of Fire & Ice.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I take my mum for lunch regularly. Lovely food, great atmosphere & very friendly staff. I was there today and I have to give a big shout out to Luke. He has the patient of a saint. There was an elderly couple on the next table to ours and the lady was completely obnoxious to be frank. She complained about everything to the point of ridiculous but Luke remained polite, professional & very attentive. He deserves a medal & handled her complaints impressively. (The lady was clearly out to get a free desert!) Some people!!! Well done Luke

2  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Melanie

Thank you for leaving such a positive review. Luke will be so happy to hear his professional skills are being well received even from nearby guests.

We really hope that you return for another lunch with your mum and maybe try out our evening menu?

Kind regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

I attended a meal last night after being asked to return by the manager Lee after the previous experience didn't go to plan. The food was amazing and so much of it and Luke was also fantastic making sure everything was good and that we always had a drink, unfortunately he had to go and run the quiz so left us with Lewi to take our pudding order who was also caring and great with us.

We left stuffed and happy that we had returned and that the service we obtained this time round was so much better.

It was a shame we were unable to stay for the quiz last night but will defo return to eat and take part in the quiz in the future.

Thank you for restoring my faith in great food and great customer service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lozxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there Lozxxxx

Thankyou so much for your review! It was great having you back here and I’m really happy you enjoyed your experience with us. I fully understand how much competition there is out there in our market place so to win back some trust means a tremendous amount.

I do hope we see you here again soon

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Have heard amazing things about this place so took a friend after telling him how amazing it's reputation was... arrived after getting a taxi there as it's out of town to be told at 9.05pm sorry we stopped serving food ... web site says 10pm now out of pocket for the taxi both ways and went home hungry, won't be bothering again as unsure if we would be fed..

Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hi Kate F

May I firstly apologise for any lack of hospitality you have received when trying to dine with us. It sounds unreasonable for us not to have offered anything and so I will ofcourse be looking into this.

Can you email me at your earliest convienience at 1780@greeneking.co.uk so I can look to rectify this and restore your faith in the reccomendation you received and were happy to give out previously.

Please do get in touch

Best regards

Lee Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Our experience here was outstanding! The service from Luke was second to none! Very friendly, very polite. He had helpful answers to all our questions. Couldn’t fault anything at all. Food was great, couldn’t ask for anymore than that! Would recommend to anyone!

Thank ashleighjamestho2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Ashleyjamestho

Thank you for leaving a review. We are so pleased to hear you had a positive experience and Luke will be especially pleased that he was part of making your experience with us special.

Kind Regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and service Our waitress Sam was very cheerful and accommodating Nice, fresh decor and lovely atmosphere for families, friends and couples.

Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi there

Thankyou for leaving us this review. Sam is a great ambassador of our restaurant and a real star in the team. She will be thrilled at getting another mention.

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing