We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #40 of 624 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Description: Here at Goodwin's Chester we are passionate about serving real, honest food and famous for the very best steaks prepared and seasoned with our signature spice blend. Everything is cooked to perfection by our expert Grill Masters. Our bread is baked in house and our cocktails are inspired. We are perfectly located near to Cheshire Oaks retail park & Chester Zoo. Adjacent to Chester Countess Hospital and a stones throw from Chester University. You will experience expertly grilled food, breads baked in house, ice cold beers & cocktails, great wines & craft beers, fresh salads & signature desserts. Everything here is made with love and born of Fire & Ice.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at Goodwin's Chester we are passionate about serving real, honest food and famous for the very best steaks prepared and seasoned with our signature spice blend. Everything is cooked to perfection by our expert Grill Masters. Our bread is baked in house and our cocktails are inspired. We are perfectly located near to Cheshire Oaks retail park & Chester Zoo. Adjacent to Chester Countess Hospital and a stones throw from Chester University. You will experience expertly grilled food, breads baked in house, ice cold beers & cocktails, great wines & craft beers, fresh salads & signature desserts. Everything here is made with love and born of Fire & Ice.
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Our experience here was outstanding! The service from Luke was second to none! Very friendly, very polite. He had helpful answers to all our questions. Couldn’t fault anything at all. Food was great, couldn’t ask for anymore than that! Would recommend to anyone!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ashleighjamestho2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Ashleyjamestho

Thank you for leaving a review. We are so pleased to hear you had a positive experience and Luke will be especially pleased that he was part of making your experience with us special.

Kind Regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and service Our waitress Sam was very cheerful and accommodating Nice, fresh decor and lovely atmosphere for families, friends and couples.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi there

Thankyou for leaving us this review. Sam is a great ambassador of our restaurant and a real star in the team. She will be thrilled at getting another mention.

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Really great pub with a lovely atmosphere. Always very friendly and welcoming with a special shout out to Will on the bar. Would definitely recommend Added bonus the World Cup is also being shown.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Kate F

Thankyou for taking the time to write in with your review.

Hope to see you here again very soon.

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Visiting family and went for a meal after theatre .

Fantastic service from Sam and Luke : efficient , friendly & attentive with knowledge about the menu . Nothing too much trouble - very impressive . All the team so helpful !

Food was brilliant - excellent choice for all tastes , steak was excellent as was the fish . The dessert ( cheesecake bomb) to die for.

The dining room is lovely , really well refurbished : light airy and plenty of room , with great atmosphere. Option to drink on patio outside.

Honestly can’t fault it - perfect for a family Sunday lunch , special event or just a dinner out for the evening.

Thanks for a great visit team !

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sheronwilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi there

Thankyou for the positive review.
Hopefully we see you again here very soon.

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We are continually impressed with Goodwin's! We feel lucky that this is our local restaurant. All of the staff are very welcoming and efficient, especially Will and Lewis. The portions are generous and the drinks menu is extensive. The beer garden has late sun, which is quite rare in Chester!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CarysHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Hi CarysHughes

We are very lucky with the level of sunshine everywhere right now, but in particular how long it hits our garden. There’s some work coming for later this year to make it even better (so may miss the Sunshine) , but will be a welcome addition to the business.

Thankyou for taking the time to write in your review and especially mentioning the wonderful Will & Lewis!

I do hope we can see you again very soon

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing