We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
183
248
154
87
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
248
154
87
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman amphitheatre great location standard travelodge car park pepper st family room plug sockets bars and restaurants basic room few minutes walk busy road night stay stayed here for one night reception staff comfy bed short break the pub
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Poor customer service, full laggage room so had to keep with us until check in. Room key did not work on the night so had to have that re set up. Staff seemed to find customers an inconvience to their day.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank jaynemcspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Chester Central Travelodge.

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay.

May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

After staying with a group of friends, I was disappointed with the standards of this hotel. I expected it to been cheap from the price we paid but I still expect a nice hotel.

It needs some work doing to it, our bathroom toilet seat was broken nor was it clean, the front door had cracks all down it and the extra bed that was provided had been placed directly under the bottle opener which then resulted to it being moved across the room.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SRob694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Chester Central Travelodge.

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay.

May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

If you want a cheap clean simple place to stay for a night out in Chester. Then travel lodge is worth every penny compared to the competition

It’s dead Centre smack bang in the middle of town.

It’s not fancy it’s not posh. But it’s clean and prices sensibly.

Believe me you can pay four times more for not much better.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Fatty-daddy-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

First, the positives: Friendly, helpful staff (when I could find them), good sized bedroom with everything I needed (apart from a hair dryer, which is available from reception), fully adjustable temperature and a/c, decent choice of tv channels, powerful shower, clean, fresh bed linen, such a comfortable bed, and they gave me two extra pillows to help with my bad back. Definitely good value for money.

The negatives: I arrived late afternoon. When I got out of the lift, I noticed scraps of paper and fluff on the corridor carpet, which I assumed had been dropped since the morning clean. However, my bedroom carpet also had fluff and crumbs and the bathroom smelled of dirty cleaning cloths. I wasn't overly worried about the carpet, thinking they'd missed one day and would clean it the next, and I left the bathroom door open and the fan on, which helped with the smell, although I had to do that several times during my stay. There were also a couple of hairs that were definitely not mine in the shower, but I always clean down strange showers and baths myself before I use them, so I didn't stress over that. (Yes, I do know that's a bit weird!)

However...

When I left 4 days later, my room had still not been hoovered. The scraps of paper and fluff in the corridor were also still there, and had been added to. But the worst bit was something I didn't notice until the last morning. The carpet by the bathroom door was filthy, properly disgusting, with ground in dirt that had obviously been there a very long time. If I had been wearing my glasses when I first arrived, I would have noticed that then and requested a new room, but I hate the things and only wear them when I have to, so missed it. Lesson learned.

I've stayed in Travelodge hotels before and been very impressed with the value for money. However, this is the second time recently that I've had to question the cleanliness of a Travelodge (the other was in London). I know that these hotels are the cheaper end of the mid price market, and I understand that facilities are cut back to a minimum, but a basic requirement of even the cheapest hostel is that it should be clean. Something is going very wrong with this area of service and Travelodge needs to look at it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Tilly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Chester Central hotel.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room or the hotel was not cleaned to our usual high standard.

We are very pleased to hear that the other aspects of your stay were good

We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves.

May we thank you again for your feedback and hope you stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Very good location in Chester pprox 15 minutes' walk from railway station, but close to the main shopping area & river boats. Budget accommodation & room ok, but perhaps a little tired. However, staff extremely helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews