We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A unique Cambridge experience; fantastic value

Booked 2 rooms, one overlooking the quad and one the other side and both were absolutely lovely... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
vglow2016
,
Poole, United Kingdom
Fantastic stay

My partner and I stayed for a long weekend in the West Court accommodation. It’s fabulous and so... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
JohnRobinson3268
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 59 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cambridge
from US$22,40
More Info
from US$44,20
More Info
from US$14,10
More Info
from US$19,20
More Info
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
43
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious grounds porters lodge dining hall iron gates william morris steeped in history worth a visit the river nunnery court quad conference college horses chapel students lawns
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Definitely worth strolling around - you can get a map for free from the porters lodge. Steeped in history - watching students flitting across the green - quintissentially English!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 490charliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

A lovely college with a stunning chapel and modern artwork around the lawns. Quaint and gorgeous. See it!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the impressive Conference Centre accommodation in Jesus College and would highly recommend it. The facilities in West Court are superb: brand new, spotlessly clean and high quality. Our en suite room on the 2nd floor looked onto Jesus Lane with a small balcony. It was small but had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good too: everything healthy and fresh with a good choice. Staying in the College you can explore the grounds, relax in the cafe bar and attend services in the beautiful ancient chapel. Not the cheapest but good value for money.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

It's probably fair to say that my husband is one to only give out praise where praise is due - and I really did score top marks for this one! Jesus College West Court development is a brand new conference centre within the Jesus
College grounds, and where rooms can be booked by the public too. I found it whilst I was searching around the Internet for somewhere central to stay and that was a bit more interesting than the norm. A huge added bonus is that it has parking too, which is a big plus in a city not designed for the car - they say on a first come first served basis - but there was plenty of space as we swept through the large iron gates and through the expansive grounds on a Saturday afternoon. The room was modern, spotlessly clean, finished to a high standard and quiet - despite the students having fun. Right in the middle of town, minutes from the great pubs and restaurants of King Street, and 10-15 minutes from the cinema it was totally authentic and a privilege to gaze out of our window across the quad. Good choice of breakfast in a bright room at long refectory tables, it was quintessentially English. Slightly different to a normal hotel in that breakfast is served strict 8-9am, checkout by ten, and reception is not manned 24/7 (although I think Porters Lodge is). Think conference centre rather than hotel, but I felt that was reflected in the price and it really was a unique Cambridge experience topped off by seeing the ancient remains of the convent upon which the college is built, and the beautiful chapel that we joined for Sunday service and where the student choir was quite out of this world. We'll definitely be coming back here.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Onlyplacesilike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

To find Jesus College, starting at the market-place, you walk up Market Street, turn left up Sidney Street (passing Sidney Sussex college) and then turn right along Jesus lane. About 300 yards up this road, you turn into the main walled entrance road, leading to0 the porter's lodge and the college itself. The building are very elegant, in a uniform style of the period, and the surrounding are unusually spacious. Behind the college are large sports grounds. The court containing the chapel contained fine display of flowers, including several large hanging baskets. The first court you enter if you turn left on entry contains a magnificent bronze of a horse in the middle of the large lawn.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews