We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t drink too much ”
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ranked #100 of 740 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub, nice beer but the toilets are a mess. Felt dirtier coming out than when went in. Floor wet with what I hope was water, radiator fittings covered in rust so it isn’t new, no paper towels, single electric hand drier not working. No way of dryer my
hands. Need to get basics right.

Thank DocBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi I am so sorry to hear about your experience here. I have spoken to phs and have arranged callouts for the hand dryers to be fixed right away. Once again I apologise for the experience

Regards Molly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 2 085 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just popped in for drink and bar smells of some sort disinfectant and ladies toilets sanitary bin overflowing , one toilet blocked and looks grimey - how can this be on a thurs night at 9pm???
Won’t be back here sadly

Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Liz, I apologise for the state of the ladies toilets and would like to let you know that callouts have been made to phs for the sanitary bin collections to be more regular to prevent overflowing in the future. I can only apologise about the blocked toilet as I cannot expect my staff to unblock it themselves, however it was closed off and labelled out of order as soon as someone had let us know that it was blocked. A plumber has been called out to see to the blockage.

Regards

Molly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are many nooks and crannies in this pub and well worth a visit we visited on a very cold day in February so it was very welcoming. It is a very popular pub so can get very busy at times. We didn't eat here but the food looked very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, it’s nice to hear how much you enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Living on past glories doesn’t usually ensure continued future success; though the Eagle can overlook this small detail as they have an abundance of tourists frequenting the place and keeping the tills ringing.

The Eagle has history and plenty of it which means it’s either mentioned or pointed out on the many (walking and bus) tours of Cambridge which need necessary reference points upon which to hang their tales. And this means decent standards barely exist unless you’re a traveller used to mediocre establishments who is happy to tick a visit off their bucket list when checking this place out. Which you’re virtually obliged to do when visiting Cambridge. This pub would be out of business in six months if it had to survive on repeat business from locals

The “quaint” courtyard is basically a cobbled covered area with as many (ugly) tables and chairs crammed into the space as possible, presumably to accommodate the tourist hordes, with no regard to actual comfort or effectiveness; a scenario not dissimilar to an assault course, which isn’t really what you want when looking for somewhere to sit to have a drink. The inside areas are no better.

The menu on offer is the usual unimaginative fare that caters for the masses with indiscernible taste. We decided not to eat here for a number of reasons but uncleared and dirty tables, expensive prices for mediocre looking food and surly waiting staff were the primary reasons.

So why give a two star review? The guy behind the bar who served us was pleasant enough, in a “I really don’t want to be here” way and the beer is well kept.

But it doesn’t matter what I say. This place will continue to do what it does in its substandard ways and will still be packed full of people, who either don’t care or don’t know there are better pubs in Cambridge.

Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great watering hole with the most wonderful menu. Had the house special burgers cooked to perfection. Our compliments to chef-absolutely brilliant. Thank you for making our day.

Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, it’s great to hear how you enjoyed the food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing