We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for food”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #517 of 742 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Disappointed mainly because of the long 1 hour wait for food despite the pub being virtually empty. (England were playing in the world cup!) The food took so long to arrive that we didn't have time to order dessert.

Food was expensive too - the sea bass only came with a sauce with no carbohydrates or vegetables and that was £16.75+vat. Also I've never been to a restaurant where the 20% vat was not reflected on the menu and instead was added onto the bill afterwards...bit cheeky.

It's a shame because the service was actually good - the waitresses were really attentive. This was let down by how long the food took to arrive.Food itself was ok, but paltry portions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tropicalislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hi Tropical,

Thank you for taking the time to pop on to Trip Advisor and leave us a review on your recent visit.

Just to clear up any confusion that VAT is INCLUDED in all of our menu prices - it is broken down on the receipt for those who need to claim back VAT through their work. The prices on our menu are what you will pay on the day.

The Seabass comes with potatoes, Parmentier potatoes are small cubes bound with the vegetables - I can assure you that they will have been there.

Please do make us aware of any problems at the time so that we can do our absolute best to rectify any concerns there and then as we never like any of our guests to leave not 100% satisfied with their visit.

Kind Regards,

Jenny Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

We were seated right away and then waited 20 minutes for the server to take our drink order. We decided to order dinner at the same time to avoid another 20 minute wait. First order and they were out of Fish & Chips.. Can you imagine??? We finally found something else to order that they had. Another 15 minutes and our drinks arrived. Another 15 and the food arrived. The linguine was OK, the sticky chicken was not so good, and the crab cake was equally not so good. We finished dinner and waited, and waited, and waited for the check before getting up and waiting for our waitress to come out of the kitchen and give us our check. She actually asked if I wanted to add a gratuity - I declined. The restaurant has a very nice atmosphere but boy is the service bad and the food average at best. What a waste of a great location. And on top of all that they request you to go on Trip Advisor and rate them.. Duh???

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fritz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Fritz,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent visit. I have spoken to the Duty Manager from your visit and your waitress who have commented that you did not leave any of the above feedback on the evening. We always encourage our guests to do this so that we can rectify any problems straight away to ensure that our guests leave happy.

Fish & Chips was indeed off the Menu that evening and I apologise - it is one of our most popular dishes but our fish delivery let us down that day. As it was the only item unavailable I hope that it was not too difficult to choose from the many other great dishes that we offer.

Our team will never ask the guest to leave a tip - it is a mandatory selection on our card machines, something that the team have no control over, this is the case in a large amount of hospitality venues.

I do hope you will pop back and see us so that we can restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards,

Jenny Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

3 friends visited for meal at 6.45pm. We ordered fishcakes for two and sticky chicken for one. The pub was not busy when we arrived only few customers, but it still took 1 hour 20 minutes for food to arrive. No customers eating outside at the time and not many customers eating in the restaurant. We did not order dessert as no idea just how long we would have to wait. Embarrassing for bar staff as delay not their fault, but obviously problems in kitchen, definitely long delay has put us off from eating here again.

Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Gillian R

Thanks for highlighting the issue with the amount of time you waited. This is far from the service we aim to provide so I am sorry to hear your food took so long. We usually have your food with you far more speedily and I hope you will return to give us another chance.

Sincere Apologies

Green Man Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Brought our American friends here for dinner, so disappointing. Very slow to get drinks much less the meal. 2 meals were ok, the other 2 tasteless. So embarrassing.

Thank Janedaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Janedaphne

Thanks for the review. Sorry to see you weren't impressed, especially when trying to impress guests. I have gone over the points you highlight to ensure an improvement if you choose to give us another chance.

Your Sincerely

Green Man Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Returned here as good parking. Menu varied and different. I had the Lamb Kofta.
However, the plate was stone cold and the fool cooled rapidly. This time I had taken the precaution of bringing my own sweeteners. Next time will request that hot food be served on a hot plate. The food was generally well cooked and well presented.
We will return.
johnep

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear John P

Thanks for stopping by with a review. All our food should be served on hot plates so I am sorry to hear yours was not and have spoken to the kitchen staff to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!!

Green Man Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Trumpington, Cambridge
Fen Ditton, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing