We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good”
Review of The Olive Shed

The Olive Shed
Ranked #208 of 1 847 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$44
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2018

As a family group of 4 we thoroughly enjoyed our food which consisted of about 10 tapas items, Everything was tasty, the staff were friendly and attentive and the view from our table was delightful. We have reservations about our visit. Some of the tapas dishes were very small in quantity for the prices charged which are distinctly high; people in our experience often want to share individual tapas dishes but when portions are so small, particularly the meat and fish ones in this case, this is not possible. The puddings were tiny and served on a huge plate.The only other point we think worth making concerned the acoustics; the noise volume made conversation very difficult. We have experienced this in other restaurants and think it is something to do with the bare furnishings which now prevail and do not absorb sound and cause people to speak even louder which increases the problem.However we enjoyed our evening generally.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited this place after searching online for restaurants friendly to vegetarians, those with food allergies etc. The setting beside the harbour is beautiful and the staff were lovely. The food was delicious and perfectly timed - we had a tapas selection. As a meat eater, I would STRONGLY recommend the braised lamb - it was superb! Fish tapas was great too as was the tortilla.
Will definitely go there again when in Bristol.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Go793705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

3 of us had an early Friday dinner, location and staff absolutely superb. However, when I ordered the baked sea bream I was told it would take 20 minutes to cook - sadly when it arrived it was at least 5 minutes over cooked and very dry, a huge disappointment I’m afraid to say.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank willnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Fortunately we were recommended this place by our Airbnb owners and were so glad we visited. It would be easy to walk past this on the quay near Mshed as it doesn’t look like the wonderful restaurant that it is. The food is absolutely amazing in quality style and presentation and is served in a friendly and laid back manner by a great team of staff. Great for lunch or dinner. For a quick stop off or a long evening meal this is excellent

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Harrisbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Just happened to be wandering by, stopped and had the best tapas in ages. Wonderful. Views were great, service fantastic. Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank JATDLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Shed also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Olive Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing