We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Browns Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #360 of 1 852 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Browns building in Bristol is modelled on the Doge's Palace in Venice and was once part of the outstanding Bristol Museum and Art Gallery. It was restored to its former glory in 1992 and is now very much part of the landscape. Bristol is a city of bridges, boats and beautiful churches with the stunning Georgian Queen Square at the centre and the world famous Clifton Suspension Bridge on the cliffs of the Avon Gorge. So come and join us at Browns for a great atmosphere, delicious food, sparkling fizz and cool cocktails!
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Had a great meal service was also great but let down very bad by the toilets my partners starter was served on a chipped plate and the place needs a tidy up and refurbished

Thank PaulH4586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Paulh4586, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We regret that our toilets are still awaiting refurbishment, however it is an area we are aware requires improvement, and plans are in place. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care, and kind regards, Browns Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1 230 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink with friends for the first time. Dirty glasses, Unclean lines, Rude service, London price tag. Go somewhere else for a nice drink!

Thank Tomathus_Edwardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tomathus_edwardo, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.
We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. If you are willing, please contact us at 0117 930 4777 so we can work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards, Browns Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We were supposed to go to another restaurant after our wedding but unfortunately, on the day of our wedding the restaurant's machine was apparently broken.

So we had a state of panic searching where to eat. We tried to book Miller & Carter but told that they were fully booked and they recommended going to Browns instead.

We booked Browns for about 20 people and it was not a disappointment! :)

The one who served us, Anna, was very wonderful, she memorised most of our orders(20 people!), very friendly and hospitable! Excellent customer service, I should say.

The food was also amazing, what I had was Meatballs for Starter and Steak Frites for my main - they were both immaculate and filling. The steak was soft and the meatballs were very tasty.

The interior and the building was beautiful as well!

Overall, I would say that we had a very nice meal and the guests enjoyed the food and the customer service - will come back again when we have a chance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zeija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind feedback with regards to your time with us. i realy hope you had a speacial day.
Kind regards,

Browns Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

If the toilets were anything to go by stay away.. locked door yet two people still walked in. It wasn’t very nice despite being very early for coffee. Then the staff made us feel we’d interrupted there morning.. must be better places in Bristol

Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Gary W, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We hope you are willing to give us another chance. Please reach out to us at 0117 930 4777 so we can work towards a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Visited the well known chain for a quick lunch. Not the first time I've been here but will not be in a hurry to return.
Food is overpriced even for central Bristol and the state of their ground floor bathroom left much to be desired. Come on Browns you should do better than this

Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA765, Owner at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.

Thanks Ann H again.
Kind regards

Browns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing