We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruth was so much fun!”

Clifton Wine School - Day Classes
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

I passed Wset Level 2 with Ruth in Bath and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. There was so much of information to learn but it was greatly balanced with the time spent tasting and discussing wines each day. I work in retail where I recently gained position which includes buying of wines and this course helped me to do my job so much better! Highly recommend for anybody working in trade.

Thank Terezia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Ruth taught me for 6 weeks on a WSET course and was such a good teacher. She makes the subject so interesting and not once did I get bored - quite an achievement as I have not been in proper education for 40 years and wondered how I would manage. Thank you Ruth, pass or fail it was a fantastic experience and I learnt so much

Thank LLoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

“Before starting my wine course with Ruth I knew embarrassingly little about wine. I viewed it as a world I could never begin to grasp, a foreign language and impossibly complex. Ruth broke everything down into simple, easy to understand basics which gave me a strong foundation of wine knowledge. From here, she used her engaging teaching style to help me add to this foundation. Before I knew it, I was honestly hanging off her every word. I learnt more than I could have ever expected and have a newly found, genuine interest in wine. I also speak confidently on the subject of wine and even, occasionally impress people with my knowledge of it. Thank you Ruth”

Jack Golden
General Manager
The Circus Restaurant, Bath

Thank Jacko2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I have now been twice to Clifton wine school. First time was for bubbles, the second for various white wines. Both experiences were great, with a lot learned whilst having fun. I went away with slightly tipsy and cleverer than I was, and it isn't often you can say that! A lot of fun and highly recommended

Thank AndrewA2980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Booked to go End of feb for a 21st gift with the girls but unfortunately it snowed so received an email to say about a re booking, it is now April and I didn’t hear a thing, I had to chase this up myself for a refund, to now find out it’s been rescheduled in Bristol instead of bath only a couple of weeks away on a Tuesday evening not a weekend which it was beforehand, very short notice to change our working hours! When I recieved the email you could tell that they didn’t expect, it was a brushed under the carpet and forgotten about moment! If I hadn’t of emailed I definitely wouldn’t of been contacted! awful service, definitely will not be booking again.

Thank abbienewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W, Owner at Clifton Wine School - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Abbie, I'm so sorry that this was your experience. I really don't like it when we have to cancel. Unfortunately due to the snow we had to cancel 2 tastings in March. One was in Bath and the other in Bristol and I mistakenly thought you were referring to the Bristol tasting when I told you the rescheduled event. I'm so sorry, that was entirely my fault. The rescheduled date for the Bath Evening Introduction is Friday 25th May. It took a bit longer to reschedule than the tasting in Bristol because it's a Friday. I should have been in contact to make you aware of that. If you'd like to come along free of charge by way of an apology, just let me know. Kind regards, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clifton Wine School - Day Classes also viewed


Been to Clifton Wine School - Day Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing