We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect party night possible”

Review of The Gothic Mansion

exterior back lawn to mansion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
ensuite wet room ground floor
Master ensuite with Jacuzzi bathroom
One of many halls in the mansion and plenty to see
Enclosed and high gated  gardens perfect for the klids and family to enjoy.
Chesterfield lounge
stained glass stair landing, you will just love being in eloquent surrounding s of the mansion
The Gothic Mansion Bristols best kept secret!
Double boudoir
The Gothic Mansion nestled in an acre of grounds and on site car park
Grand reception hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johniegus...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect party night possible”
Reviewed 24 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this house for a charity event, raising money for St Peter's Hospice, as well as a celebration for Bristols' first Elected Mayor, George Fergusson who was the star of the night. We had 2 very large halls and several reception rooms connected by a hallway that feels like a mainstream hotel, log fires in period fireplaces and a kitchen big enough to cater for an army. We had space for a whole series of Art and craft stalls for the afternoon and we set up a PA for a night of music with several different bands and performers and though we made loads of noise the it was absorbed by the huge thick walls of the mansion. This place is definately Bristols best kept secret..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge amounts of space
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesP198...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for stags and hens”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
5
people found this review helpful

If you are looking into a stag or hen weekend then The Gothic Mansion is the place! The place is a maze of bedrooms, living areas and kitchens along with a huge hall where everyone can congregate. We had a group of over 40 so booking individual apartments/hotels would have been a logistical nightmare and a lot more expensive. I recommend this place to anyone with a large group of people, it was brilliant and shall never forget it!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That all of your friends can be under one roof
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philip o
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect spot”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
7
people found this review helpful

This place really is amazing, I knew it was going to be big, but when you first arrive you can't help but be impressed. Our first hour or so was spent running about like kids exploring and finding new secret rooms hidden away in the house. There's even a pool and darts room hidden downstairs. This was a stag do with 45 attendees and the landlady did everything she could to accommodate, she really is very understanding and easy to get along with. There is a great big function room at the back of the house which we used to played tunes in, but this could easily be set up to seat about 30 people round a massive table, there's another offshoot room as well which seated the rest. There are so many chairs / sofas / outdoor chairs / arm chairs / living rooms / hidden flats / kitchens / bedrooms / games rooms scattered about the place that you never get bored. We intended to go out alot more than we did. Most of the weekend we spent around the mansion simply because everything we needed was right there. When we did need to get to town though it's a very short taxi ride or I'm sure you could even walk it.
All in all a top weekend. Realistically, the gardens were a bit run down and some of the furniture needed replacing. However, for our group this was perfect as we didn't feel we had to tip toe around the whole time. Also, gardeners were there as we arrived and I'm sure the place will keep getting better with the feedback that the landlady so willingly receives.
Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location, layout, service
Liked least: Guests
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola f
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hen Party Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
7
people found this review helpful

I thought that house was amazing, and everything we needed for our 4 nights away in Bristol, you cannot fault its position as it is very close to town, the rooms were all to a nice standard and there was plenty to choose from!

The kitchen is well equiped and we found it had everything we needed. It is going through some renervation works at the moment but that did not hinder our stay.

My comments would be that as all was done on text and email I did feel a little uneasy as to wether our booking was confirmed, I also didn't like sending over loads of money via bank trasnfer when I had nothing in writing, but we did and it all worked out fine, I got my deposit back within a week of getting back from the property quickly and easily. I think as there was no reviews when we booked it, i had nothing to go on, but as I have said before it all worked out fine for us.

Getting in and out of the house was very easy and worked well with such a big group ofus.

I would recommend this house to friends if going on a similar party, and we are thinking of going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House space and decor
Liked least: communication before our stay
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne N
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience, amazing house, so close to the city”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Im sure,This is one of Bristol best kept secrets! We were in awe of the vastness of the accommodation, it takes about 20 minutes just to walk round house.The car park was really convenient and trips by taxi, in to the centre, were very cheap, We spent most of the time out on the town! Although on the Saturday afternoon we were able to enjoy the huge garden and there was plenty of seating for our group.
I would really recommend this house, it has a real charm and character inside and out. We managed to dine 20 people comfortably around the extremely large dining table in the hall and the kitchen facilities and cooking utensils were already set up for a much larger group than ourselves. There is another dining room that we did not manage to make use of and the lounge has plenty of sofas. The building itself is very interesting, looks a little like the Adams family house, but don't let that put you off, cause inside it's really welcoming, as is the manager who took care of all of our needs and was really flexible. We obtained invaluable information on activities and the best cocktail bars.
In summary I think this is a weekend all of us will remember for a long time to come and the only disadvantage was having to leave so soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the house
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing