We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much fun!!!”

Bristol Zoo Gardens
Ranked #40 of 219 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Bristol Zoo Gardens you can enjoy an amazing world of animals, all within our award-winning 12 acre gardens. With over 400 species and 9 animals houses under cover, you'll enjoy your visit whatever the weather. We suggest you allow 2-5 hours for your visit to really take in everything we have to offer.By visiting Bristol Zoo you will be directly contributing to the conservation of endangered species and habitats.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There are many exhibits there and interactive games. It is really exciting to go there. Would recommend!!!

Thank akis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BZG-GuestServices, Manager at Bristol Zoo Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the 5 stars!! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your day. Thank you for your support and recommending us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"butterfly house"
in 89 reviews
"large animals"
in 75 reviews
"gorilla enclosure"
in 63 reviews
"sea lions"
in 44 reviews
"animal talks"
in 35 reviews
"asiatic lions"
in 33 reviews
"fruit bats"
in 33 reviews
"twilight zone"
in 33 reviews
"conservation work"
in 32 reviews
"feeding times"
in 37 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 47 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 64 reviews
"enclosures"
in 474 reviews
"picnic"
in 357 reviews
"seal"
in 88 reviews
"monkeys"
in 143 reviews
"panda"
in 44 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 3 142 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are annual members of the zoo. Yesterday we visited for the first time since they opened the new restaurant. What a disappointment. They have built over the old outside space (which had tables and benches) and have extended the old inside space. There is only one entrance and the girl at the desk approached us with 2 pieces of paper which appeared to be menus. She then showed us to a table at the back of the restaurant and we asked to sit by the windows where there were several empty tables. She said we couldn't sit there so we said 'OK' and walked out. This was at 3.30pm on Easter Sunday so they clearly weren't keeping the tables so they could clean that area. The whole visit was disappointing and we are thinking of cancelling our membership. The old restaurant and outside space was a bit shabby but so much nicer and friendlier. We want somewhere we can sit and enjoy a coffee, not a waitress-service restaurant, unfriendly and lacking in atmosphere restaurant.

4  Thank Clifton_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BZG-GuestServices, Manager at Bristol Zoo Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear that you support our charity by being members. It sounds like, at the time you visited The Hide restaurant, the area by the window was no longer available. It is normal practice to close down areas of a large restaurant as closing time approaches (which is 4.30pm for our restaurant currently). I am sorry that you were disappointed that you could not sit in those particular seats and that you left without actually having a complete experience of the restaurant. I am sure that if you had stayed and chosen something from the menu, you would have had an enjoyable experience. I will pass on your feedback to our catering managers for their review as we are consistently working on ways to improve for our guests.
We have plenty of picnic areas and outlets where you can purchase takeaway food and drinks, so perhaps when you visit in nicer weather you will be able to enjoy sitting in one of these areas as an alternative to The Hide.
Bristol Zoological Society undertakes valuable conservation work around the world to help protect animals in the wild as well as breeding programmes to help species closer to home, so thank you for supporting this by being a member. I hope that you continue to support us, as well as enjoying the many benefits and excellent value being a member provides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Bristol Zoo because we had finished our previous activity earlier than expected. Cost us £42 to go in with a student discount of a £1 !!
Our last visit to the zoo was 19 years ago and I can say that I couldn't see any investment in the attraction. All of the animals were bored and lifeless, but then I would be too if I was stuck in a small enclosure all day long..
We had a late lunch at the zoo and this came to quite a bit of money for what we had, also menu seemed limited. Staff in restaurant and zoo were friendly and helpful.

3  Thank farmlad1w3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BZG-GuestServices, Manager at Bristol Zoo Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Our student guests are usually very savvy and take advantage of the additional discount by booking online, which I'd recommend you do next time. You can do this even on the day of the visit and this is a great way of saving money.
Another great tip is to check out any special offers on our website such as our Child Goes Free offer which runs during holiday periods. You can opt to take advantage of our Sustainable Transport discount whereby you get 33% of your ticket cost refunded (even if that is a student online ticket which already offers a great saving). You simply travel to us by public transport and show proof of this as well as your zoo ticket / booking confirmation to our receptionist and you get the extra 33% refunded in cash there and then! Absolute bargain!
Our historic zoo is constantly evolving and we have changed a huge amount in over 180 years! We do not house as many large animals now due to our 12 acres and we consistently adapt according to animal's needs. Our experienced team of animal keepers and in-house veterinary staff are dedicated to ensuring the welfare of the animals they care for. The team I work with at Bristol Zoo are some of the most passionate and caring individuals I've ever worked with.
I can confirm that our animals are certainly not bored and that their enclosures are specifically designed to allow them to display their full range of natural behaviours in their home. They are provided with plenty of enrichment and always have off-show spaces where they can enjoy some privacy if they so wish.
Our Hide restaurant provides a quality, table-service experience which many enjoy and find convenient. Alternatively, you are always welcome to bring your own picnic and take a seat at one of our many picnic benches across the site, including a newly extended undercover picnic area (just one example of a recent investment in our attraction to improve guest experience)!
I'm really pleased to hear that the staff you interacted with were friendly and helpful. We think we're a pretty great team and are proud to work for such a worthy cause together. It's wonderful to be able to share our love and knowledge of animals with our guests and hopefully enhance their day.
As a charity, Bristol Zoological Society is responsible for undertaking pioneering research and conservation work to help save wildlife, so thank you for supporting this through your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Relatively small and somewhere that has equal pride in Gardena as it does for family experience; care of exhibits; and overall sustainability and education. Friday evening opening at cheap rate in summer is a winner and tree top walk gives both parents and kids a bit of extra activity also.

Thank stevepercival73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BZG-GuestServices, Manager at Bristol Zoo Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback and for sharing the great tip about our fantastic value Friday Twilight's which we are having every Friday evening 6.30-10pm 6th July - 17th August and tickets just £5 (£4 for members). Tickets are available on our website now!
Thank you for mentioning our beautifully landscaped gardens too - our gardens team do a great job and make wandering the grounds an absolute pleasure.
Thank you so much for supporting us and our conservation work through your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our trip to the Zoo. You don’t need a whole day, we managed it in a morning between 9 and 12. Shame about the weather when we went but lots of indoor bits to do on a rainy day. We liked The Hide restaurant for breakfast. Lovely, friendly service. Just be aware that if you go during poor weather, the animals are less likely to be out and about. We enjoyed the lemur talk. The staff were very knowledgable and engaging.
Would go back again during better weather.

Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BZG-GuestServices, Manager at Bristol Zoo Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found lots to do despite the bad weather!
I will be sure to let the restaurant team know that you were pleased with your experience and I'm glad you found our staff to be knowledgeable and engaging!
Thank you for supporting us and our conservation work through your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bristol Zoo Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Zoo Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing