We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”

The Hole in the Wall
Ranked #378 of 1 792 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$9 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Hole in the Wall - Bristol offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice pub to meet friends and have dinner as they have a great menu.good to find a large garden in city. To enjoy the sun .....

Thank markone0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hole in the Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. I and the team look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I, living closeby, have always poked our head in but never properly visited. Today, we decided to have lunch and a drink. The lovely atmosphere and good old pub food (made slightly more interesting with an eclectic menu and exciting flavours added to classic dishes) makes you feel at home immediately. The main thing about our visit was the staff; they were so, so lovely. The bar staff were enthusiastic and our server, Ola, went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were happy. When our meal was sent back due to an easily made mistake (One of us is allergic to tomatos, something dfficult to avoid!) Ola was kind and efficient, and the kitchen were very careful with our new order, so quick too! We are hoping to make our visits more regular now that we know the staff ar so wonderful and the food exciting (my roast was lush!) Thank you, particularly to Ola, for making our Sunday even brighter :-)

Thank gemmadwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hole in the Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there,
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and i agree Ola is amazing. I'll pass on your kind comments to her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came to the hole in the wall with friends, the service was second to none and the food was great. I would 100% recommend

Thank Szilveszter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hole in the Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello silvester,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a glowing review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a table booked for fathers day and all i can say is that the food and service was amazing, i can honestly say that i think it is the best place to go for a roast dinner around this part of bristol and very professional staff, we where looked after by two lovely young ladies called amy and ola, we will definitely return again soon.

Thank evandavies2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hole in the Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Evan,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. Ola and Amy are fantastic! I will pass on your comments, I and the team look forward too seeing you soon so you can induldge in one of our great roasts again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff and service at the hole in the wall is always first class. The food is pretty special too. We had the Father's Day menu today and as always the roast meats were delicious. The chocolate pudding was to die for.
Now we come to the selection of Gin....what can I say. Plenty to choose from and the staff know about each selection and mixer.
The garden area is lovely on a good summers day...and not so bad on a normal summer's day too.
Always a pleasure drinking here.

Thank Lisa2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hole in the Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Lisa,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. Product knowledge and great food coupled with great service is something we pride ourselves on. I and the team look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hole in the Wall also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
Long Ashton, Somerset
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Hole in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing