We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 970)
Filter reviews
1 970 results
Traveller rating
855
774
226
77
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
774
226
77
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiln restaurant double tree glass kiln warm cookies welcome cookie city centre on arrival train station lovely hotel temple meads station reception staff good size business trip breakfast was excellent car park enjoyable stay twin room
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 1 970 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Stayed here in April for 4 nights . The hotel was really good. The bed was on the smaller side even for a double. But rest everything with this hotel was nice. Very nice and friendly staff. Breakfast was the highlight !! One of the best breakfasts I ever had in hotels. The dinner was also nice.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Ashwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review online. Your awarding your stay with a score of 5/5, is very much appreciated indeed.

I was really pleased to read that you were comfortable within your room and the hotel in general. I'm sorry that you found your bed slightly smaller than you might like but it's great that it didn't take anything away from your experience as a whole.

Our breakfast are exceedingly popular. It's a winning formula of a wide variety of good quality products, all served within a very interesting dinning space, by a team of fantastically friendly people. I'm really pleased you enjoyed it.

I do hope that you will be looking for a reason to return to Bristol soon. I would love to be able to welcome you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located very close to the station, which made our late arrival on the Friday night easier. Reception staff very welcoming and professional.
King bedroom was very well sized, great amenities- big bathroom and mirror.

Read other reviews about noise and isolation, but we were not bothered at all.

The breakfast was excellent: great choice, nice room. But the best was our waiter -Greek (sorry we can't remember your name!!) who has been so friendly and very helpful, recommending us sights and things to do in Bristol. Thanks to you, you made our weekend in Bristol a little more memorable!

Highly recommended and would definitely go back when visiting Bristol again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank annaldn1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your awarding us with 5/5 and recommendation, is very much appreciated.

I would say our position within Bristol is very good. For those people, like yourself, arriving via Bristol Temple Meads train station, we are perfectly located. About a 5 minute walk means we're nice and close but without suffering the busy road noise form right outside the station. We're so close I would almost recommend visitors not to take taxis but then, if you set off in the wrong direction, 5 minutes soon becomes 10!

Now, we do have one or two Greek members of staff in our Kiln restaurant. By waiter, I can imagine it could be Kleo...but then it could also be Sia - both of whom are very friendly individuals indeed. I will pass on your thanks to the Restaurant Manager and let her decide!

Once again, a really big thank you for sharing your review. I do hope that you'll be coming back to Bristol soon. We would love to be able to welcome you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel and prepaid 4 rooms through Booking.com. I specifically requested an accessible room for my niece who is a wheelchair user
Confirmation e mail from Booking.com confirmed this
Just to make sure I called the hotel to check this had all been organised the day before travelling
I called the Bristol number but the dial tone was clearly an overseas call. The person at the other end checked my booking and I asked her was she at the hotel
In Bristol. She explained she was in a call centre outside the UK. She confirmed 4 rooms but not able to confirm accessible one
I tried to call the Bristol number several times but each time it diverted abroad

We arrived at 2 pm in Saturday and the receptionist had 4 rooms but not one as accessible. I gave her the booking details and the e mail showing I had requested accessible.

She found an accessible room for us but explained it was being prepared as there had been a problem with it

We went out for a meal and came back to check into it. The smell was disgusting. Clearly something had happened and it had been deep cleaned. We opened windows hoping to clear the chemical smell

After the theatre we returned but the room was just as bad. The duty manager found us another room but not accessible so we had to manage with difficulty. He was not warm or understanding just gave us the option of a room or no room

There were stag and hen parties in and he had to come and ask one group to stop making noise with very loud music in the early hours - the noise continued most of the night and my nephew and my sister and husband got no sleep on floor 3

Breakfast was adequate but staff were pleasant and helpful

£15 additional parking charge to leave car in hotel car park

Air conditioning not good as would not go below 22 degrees. Windows open but very noisy outside

Unhappy that trying to contact to ensure all okay - especially with a disabled guest - could not speak to hotel directly in spite of Bristol phone number. Feel staff at reception and duty manager do not identify and empathise with individual situations

Would not return here. As an experienced traveller I am sorry to say that I am unable to recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2017
Thank 691paulineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay, however I would like to take a moment to address some inaccuracies within your review.

Yes, you did book 4 rooms through Booking.com on Friday 5th @ 19:23, for arrival Saturday 6th. However, you did not book a Double Guest Room – Mobility Access (as advertised on Booking.com). You booked 2x Deluxe King and 2x King Rooms. There were no Accessible Rooms available at the time you made your booking. We have a total of 4 Accessible Rooms and all 4 were booked for Saturday 6th May. You will have seen a “You missed it! Sold for £xxx on our site” message displayed in red text, next to the Double Guest Room – Mobility Access option, preventing you from making the booking. You then added a message to your booking requesting an accessible room for your Niece. Unfortunately requests cannot be guaranteed, especially as the type of room you were after was fully booked already. When you called the hotel outside of business hours, I imagine you choose the Reservations option on the automated system. This took you through to our centralised call center. They were able to confirm that you had 2x Deluxe King and 2x King Rooms booked but they wouldn’t have been able to give you an Accessible room, as they were all fully booked. In future, when calling to speak to someone outside of normal office hours, please select option “0”, which will take you through to a Hotel Receptionist.

Upon your arrival our Receptionist was able to make some adjustments that made an Accessible room available for your Niece. I understand that another guest had not required the Accessible Room that they had booked, freeing it up for your Niece to use. Otherwise, as unfortunate as it is, your Niece would have had to use a non-Accessible room, as you had not booked one in advance. I have spoken to my Housekeeping Team regarding the Accessible Room that you declined due to an odor. They are happy that the odor was simply the cleaning products used to make the room ready and any lingering smell was not excessive. Of course, when you returned from the theatre, there would be no other Accessible Rooms available, as they were all fully booked.

I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the actions of some other guests. It sounds as though our Night Duty Manager was able to resolve the noise once it was reported. I disagree that the Team Members you encountered did not identify or empathise with you. You did not book an Accessible Room. Your request for an Accessible Room was impossible to resolve in advance as all 4 Accessible Rooms were fully booked. Our Receptionist was able to move things around for you, to make an Accessible Room available for your Niece, which you later turned down. Our Night Duty Manager was able to find you another room, which of course, wasn’t accessible as all of them had been booked in advance.

I am genuinely sorry that you feel unhappy with the service you received during your stay. It’s such a shame that you didn’t notice the “You missed it!” tag on the Booking.com website or get to speak to a Receptionist on the Friday night. This would have made it clear that unfortunately your request couldn’t be met in advance – as all our Accessible Rooms were fully booked, however they would have also said that we could check for late cancellations upon arrival. I would recommend that if you have any very specific room requests either A. Book very well in advance to avoid disappointment and B. If you’re not 100% sure and it’s outside of office hours, choose to speak to a Receptionist/hotel operator, as they will be based in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

I wouldn't normally do a review for a one night stay in a city centre, but I felt that the staff at the DoubleTree needed recognition.
From the moment we arrived, when there was a huge stag party checking in, and the receptionist spotted us and made sure that we checked in, to breakfast the following morning where, unusually for a hotel, there were enough staff to cater for everyone, we were well looked after.
Really friendly, efficient, knowledgeable.
Aside from that, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the food at breakfast was great.
So thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel.

The DoubleTree by Hilton brand is widely recognized for the friendliness and warmth of it's Team Members, and I must say that my colleagues are no exception to this. It's great to read that you were so well looked after upon your arrival. Large groups can be a little challenge to handle, especially if not fully concentrating on checking-in and more interested in the hotels bar. It sounds like the Reception Team had it fully covered.

Our breakfast is very popular and can get very busy indeed, especially on a Sunday morning after a busy Saturday night. We'll always try to ensure that we have enough people to keep things moving nicely, without compromising the quality of service our guests will receive.

I do hope that you'll be visiting us again in the near future. I would love to be able to welcome you back once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at Doubletree hotels before we opted for this one as it ideally located to discover Bristol Harbour and surrounding attractions. We booked two rooms for one night however the booking process was nightmare due to the fact that unknown Australian female blogger was doing a book signing event in one of the function rooms and the reception area and bar was full of women milling around and being rather loud. Not the hotels fault but the Reception is located on the first floor on the main thoroughfare between bar and function room!
Due to the hotel having been fully booked our room was not ready even at 15:00 and we were asked to wait. The rest of the family went to their room. When we asked about progress we were finally offered another room away from the front road so expected it to be quiet. The occupants next door however decided to prove the quality of the insulation by banging and crashing everything that moved!
In addition the double glazing was not that good with distant traffic noise still discernible throughout the night!
On the plus side the breakfast was excellent as were the waiting staff who attended to every need with a pleasant smile.
Car parking at £15 for 24 hours was a shock however unless you can find the odd free on street space the fee is competitive with other city centre car parks in Bristol.
Overall impression - great location, great breakfast, good services but needs better insulation!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Deltic9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry that your room wasn't quite as quiet as you might have liked. I have passed your comments on to my Maintenance Manager for investigation. Aside from your noisy neighbours, road noise is not something that should have affected your stay, unless your window was open. I do understand that our Reception/Bar areas were rather lively during that weekend. I am sorry that there was a delay in you getting into your room.

You were right to choose us for our great location within Bristol City Centre. We're about a 5 minute stroll from the historic harbourside and it's bars and restaurants, which sounds perfect for what you had planned for your visit. Our breakfast has always been very popular. It's the combination of a buffet style, with a good variety of great quality items. All served within a fantastic dinning area by some lovely people.

I do hope that you will be returning to Bristol in the near future. I would love to be able to welcome you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews