We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful part of England”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Founders Cottage

Tastefully converted former cider mill, surrounded by gorgeous gardens and countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tastefully converted former cider mill, surrounded by gorgeous gardens and countryside
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on a comfy sofa, in the private rear courtyard Dual aspect lounge diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Tastefully converted former cider mill, surrounded by gorgeous gardens and countryside
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on a comfy sofa, in the private rear courtyard
Dual aspect lounge diner
Lovely bright dining area with views and a door to the rear courtyard
comfy sofas to relax in after a hard days sightseeing
Dining area
bright contemporary colours and design compliment this old cottage
Grab a book and chill in the sun, on the comfy stylish outdoor sofa set  in your private courtyard
Enjoy the outside, equipped with everything you need to wine and dine 'al fresco' in styl
Beamed double bedroom with pocket sprung mattress and quality linen ensuring a good nights sleep
spacious twin that can also be a superking
Seperate well equiped kitchen, with views over the private rear courtyard
Grab a book and sit on a shady quiet seat in the front garden
Our pretty gardens are bursting with colour
colourful pretty gardens at the rear
lovely front gardens, perfect for a stroll with a glass of wine
wildlife pond area, which has frogs and newts in the spring
views over the wildlife pond
enterance driveway
views over the garden
Founders front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodenham, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
15gabi201...
Monchengladbach, Germany
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful part of England”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a wonderful fortnight at Founders'. The cottage was absolutely spotless, well equipped and very cosy. We felt very much at home and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the countryside. The owners were most helpful, friendly, discrete and - very importantly - dog-friendly.
We would return any time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time, to review us, we are glad you and your family ( including the four legged ones ) had a good stay and that you found the cottage clean and it met all your needs. We were impressed with how many places you managed to visit during your stay, more than most ! It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked the cottage for a uni reunion of 3 friends. We are spread out all over the country and Hereford is sort of in the middle of all of us. The cottage is lovely, clean, spacious and well equipped. Wifi works really well and the cottage is lovely and peaceful. Unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side so we didn't make use of the outside space, however we still managed to get out and about.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you had a good time, hope to see you all again, and if you do, we will book some sun for you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri U
Netanya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation for family with children!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage is spotlessly clean, tidy and cozy. Location is perfect, in order to explore the area. Everything was just as promised. The owners (Pat and Gill) are warm and welcoming people.
It is a treat of a stay in rural Herefordshire. We've loved it so very much, we've decided to come back next Summer as well.
Gill and Pat - thank you for making our holiday so very perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wooden beams of the XVII century cider barn!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Dear Yuri & family,
Thank you for your glowing review, we are glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you all, and we very much look forward to seeing you all again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Founders Cottage and Symonds Cottage - little gems ..”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I was seeking a pair of well-appointed cottages in a pretty location in order to spend Easter with our two sons, their wives, twin baby grandchildren and Bertie the bulldog. I thought this was a tall order and then I found these cottages at Litmarsh Farm, Marden. They are lovely - well-appointed and beautifully decorated; warm, inviting and with very comfortable beds. In addition, their situation is really delightful - a quiet rural area but with Hereford, Leominster and Ludlow readily accessible.
We spent most of our time in and around the cottages, just enjoying each other's company and it was a pleasure to do this in such pleasant surroundings. We took advantage of all the walks around the cottages until the biting wind drove us back indoors!
Gill and Pat, the owners, were really helpful and welcoming, and put themselves out to ensure that we had all that we needed.
We will certainly be back so that we can enjoy one or other of the cottages in a different way - as a marvellous base for discovering more about this beautiful corner of Herefordshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, cleanliness and attention to detail and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThetwoLau...
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend this cosy country cottage.”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in Founders Cottage, despite the wet weather!
Gill and Pat were extremely welcoming and friendly, we did not need to ask them for anything however, I'm sure they would have been more than happy to help if we had.

Founders Cottage makes a brilliant, cosy and comfortable base. The beds are SO comfy and the shower is amazing!! There is a lovely seating area outside which we hope to make more use of on our next visit.

Would recommend a walk around the lake at Bodenham Nature Reserve, also Queenswood is nice for a stroll. If you have dogs, like us, there are endless lanes and footpaths right from the front door.

Thank you Pat and Gill for a wonderful break, can't wait to come back! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing