We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic House B&B(Castletownshend)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
116
21
8
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
21
8
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscreaky floorboardslistening to the birdsstudio roomborder colliefire pitfull irish breakfastwest corkbalcony overlooking the waterfour poster bedinterior decorlap of luxurytranquil locationlocal pubexplore the groundsfamily portraitshonor systemmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved The Castle!!! It has all the character and charm we had hoped to find in a Castle. The history and the authenticity of the Castle was everything we thought it would be. The setting is beautiful. Take the time to explore the grounds including the ruins of the old castle and the church adjacent to the property. The inn keeper was super kind and helpful. Breakfast was delicious! Great restaurant nearby (Mary Ann’s) to have dinner or lunch. The food was amazing and again, the character of this coastal community was so charming. Will definitely return here in the future.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mslaw1437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We stopped in for a late lunch and were pleasantly surprised. The Owner explained that it was first day of summer and they were short staffed. Regardless, we ordered the lamb,the meal was wonderful. Even with the Resturant short staffed we enjoyed the experience, we had a lovely conversation with the owner and toured the outside kitchen. After our meal we had a lovely walk through the grounds and small harbor. looking forward to stopping in upon our return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domenick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Best location to also participate in the night kayaking with Atlantic Kayaking tours. The castle is family owned and the hosts are attentive and kind. Very clean, authentic and splendid view of the harbour. Our room was comfortable, clean with nice shower. The breakfast was nicely done and tasty. A warm, boutique hotel experience in a castle. Several restaurants nearby within walking distance. On the hill behind the castle is a church and grounds that also deserves a visit- peacefull with a view. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the water is amazing
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Great scenic location in a lovely period property. Friendly staff and good breakfasts. Recommend d for a stay away from the hustle and bustle. They operate an honesty bar with a good range of wines and beers. Recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Went to EAT @the castle, won’t be going back, dinner was nice, and full of flavor, but a total and utter rip off.
So 2 adults roast chicken dinner, 4 HALF portions of roast beef for kids, 6 small pieces of apple Cake and two cups of tea and a jug of water... €104!!! Absolutely rip of Ireland. Ours was €20 for 2 course, but the kids was €10 just for half roast and extra for their cake. Ridiculous

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank iseeyou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at The Castle Townshend, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

EAT@ The Castle Summer is Coming...

Open everyday for the summer
June 9th to September 9th
10am to 7pm
Grill & Tapas with a view!

Until then...
Brunch on Saturdays & Sundays
or speciality Sunday roast €20 for two courses, €10 kids main course
Grounds and cafe open 11am to 5pm

Open Bank Holiday Monday's 7th May and 4th May
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews