We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tragretreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletownshend, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NickiM197...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with stunning views”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We're just back from a fantastic week in Trag Retreat. The house is fab with the most stunning views of the sea. There's absolutely nothing more amazing than relaxing in the outdoor hot tub, watching the sun set and listening to the waves crash against the cliffs. It was our second time staying and we're already planning on going back next year! There's plenty to do and see and one of our favourite places to bring the kids was to the beach on Sherkin Island. There's also horse riding, Mizen Head, the Ewe experience, plenty of water activities etc. and the locals are so friendly and welcoming, as are the owners of Trag Retreat. It's definitely worth a visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
HI Nicki, Appreciate your review thanks a mill :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful stay at this house , the views are stunning, hosts have thought of everything the guest might need, hot tub was set up ready to go on our arrival, had a great stay

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thanks a mill!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M4S
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a location, what a cottage. Wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Have recently returned from Tragretreat we cannot stop talking about it! The location is amazing, totally private with stunning views! There was nothing better than sitting in the hot tub after a days exploring listening to the waves crashing against the rocks! The cottage itself was spotless and had everything you could need. The fireplaces in the bedroom and living room just topped it off! Sarah and Owen are so helpful and even left homemade biscuits and wine on our arrival. We HIGHLY recommend Tragretreat and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thanks a mill for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bid1965
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed at trag retreat on a number of occasions and each time we are delighted.
the cottage feels like home the veiws are breath taking and the hot tub is the icing on the cake.
we are going back again in march 2016 and so looking forward to it.
Owen is delightful and so helpfull.
I highly recommend trg retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hot tub in winter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thanks for your nice review much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive C
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Holiday in West Cork”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just arrived back from holiday on Trag Retreat. Absolutely amazing place real jewel of West Cork.
The private Hot Tub in the garden overlooking the Sea was amazing and invigorating. The cottage was maintained to the highest standard with all the amenities of home .
There are magnificient walks around this rugged coastline with a choice of beaches nearby.

I loved sitting out in the morning in my private garden with a cup of tea and watching the dolphins jumping in the Ocean.
I did not want to come home. I have even made plans to return again this Fall.
Highly Recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing