We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
340
121
54
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
121
54
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amuse bouche peak district on arrival weather forecast dining room cosy bar bar menu antique furniture haddon hall fly fishing birthday card excellent food pre dessert lovely old building attention to detail bed and breakfast fine dining
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The Peacock is a great favourite with our family and whenever we've stayed there the service, food and accommodation have always been exceptional. A family gathering last weekend proved to be no exception. The reception staff handled last minute changes to bookings with great courtesy and could not have been more helpful. As a large party we dined in one of the private rooms and were looked after faultlessly by a warm and welcoming team. The food was superb. A wonderful hotel that I hope to return to many times.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AppHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B, Public Relations Manager at The Peacock at Rowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We would be delighted to welcome you back at any time!

Kind regards,
Jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We had booked into The Peacock but sadly had to change our dates, unfortunately the Peacock couldn't accommodate us so we stayed at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley. We were keen to have a drink at The Peacock as a bit of a reckie for a future stay. The hotel itself is beautiful and we were greeted by a lovely young lady who pointed us to the bar. The barman, was a bit surly and not very welcoming and as much as I do appreciate my drink being brought to the table, I do like a bit of banter and conv with him and there was none. The bar area was incredibly cosy, fire was light and it was all very appealing. We had already had lunch as Baslow Hall which was a 7 course lunch so wasn't feeling hungry but could do with something. We were told we could book a table in the restaurant no problem, but as we were non residents we wouldn't be served something smaller in the bar area, which was empty bar one gentleman who had a table set specially for him as a resident. I have to say that the whole experience we had at The Peacock was quite obscure, sitting in a bar as a non resident was a very uncomfortable experience especially as we were checking it out for a further visit. Its a great shame as the hotel is beautiful and the menu looked absolutely fabulous and if we had felt a little more welcomed we would be booking our next stay there. Amazing what abit of bad Customer Service can do.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paradise545230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B, Public Relations Manager at The Peacock at Rowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we'll make sure to pass your comments on to the team. We strive to offer excellent customer service so we will make sure we review and improve our services. We apologise for the experience you had with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Peacock for a more enjoyable experience in future.

Kind regards,
Jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We had 2 lovely nights at The Peacock on route to our sons open day at Nottingham University. We couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Picturesque setting in quintessentially English Village. Character filled rooms, with modern shower/bathrooms, amazing food, wonderfully friendly staff (especially Laura & Hillary) and excellent location for some lovely long walks!! Highly recommend to all visiting the Peak District.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leighlaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B, Public Relations Manager at The Peacock at Rowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay! We'll make sure to pass on the comments about our wonderful staff.

Kind regards,
Jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We stayed two nights to celebrate an anniversary. The hotel is splendid and the food superb. Very comfortable room and bathroom. Lovely bathroom lotions. The food on each evening was excellent, well-judged. As the hotel is under the same ownership as Haddon Hall, we were able to purchase half-price tickets to visit the hall, which is also an absolute treat.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B, Public Relations Manager at The Peacock at Rowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thanks for your lovely review - we're so pleased your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for one night while driving through the Peak District. It was an amazing stay - staff could not do enough, the location was great and the food divine. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar (great cocktails) before the tasting menu in the main restaurant. Would recommend booking in for dinner if you’re staying over - a great experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ldnrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B, Public Relations Manager at The Peacock at Rowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

We can't thank you enough for your lovely review. We too love our stunning location, so we're pleased you enjoyed the experience!

Kind regards,
Jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews