We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 hour wait and burnt food”

Casa de Pasto Justiniano
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Seixal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Please update: MEALS Lunch, Late lunch, Early dinner FEATURES Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking available, Street parking, Validated parking, Free off-road parking, Has highchair, Wheelchair accessible, Serves alcoholic beverages, alcoholic drinks, Mastercard accepted, Visa accepted, Credit card accepted, Table service, Free Wi-Fi
Reviewed 9 October 2021

We came here with the expectation of getting a nice meal that was written here. To our disappointment, we got to wait for over an hour til we got our meal. While waiting I noticed that the place was dirty and dusty. That is not acceptable at all! If you start a restaurant, the hygiene needs to be kept for safety if all. When we received our food a few of the meats were burnt and those who were not, you got gummy bits in the meat. Hungry and disappointed were the feeling we got after leaving the place. Later during the night we went to another restaurant that served the same meal and to our surprise it was much better. My recommendation is to go to another restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank jessicaazizova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2021

Great experience in this restaurant in the middle of newhere. 3 km inland from Seixal on the north coast, this restaurant is worth the detour. The menu is limited but you get value for your money. No starters, but we choose a trout and the beef skewer. Both were exceptional. The skewer because they still do it the traditional way on a branch of Laurel wooed and not on steel like in all other restaurants on Madeira. Nice atmosphere but expect no luxury. And as mentioned in the title, you should order the bolo do caco because it is by far the best in Madeira (based on a short week's experience).

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank pilipili2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2021

Easter day with my sister, brother-in-law and parents... what better place to go than a place that has such a great environment, joining all the security issues associated with covid pandemic situation? After years, the place is still the same, with the same care and the same professionalism we were always used to. The quality of the food, the familiar environment, the ingredients itself... alltogether, these qualities are what makes this place a "must visit" one!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ester_Camara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at Casa de Pasto Justiniano, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it and look forward to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

The best and most traditional tastes of the island. The meal and atmosphere were superb. It’s a in a strange location but totally worth the drive from Seixal!

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank RiggingDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonios74, General Manager at Casa de Pasto Justiniano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Very fresh stuffed trout, very good steak!!! G Very careful with anti-Covid 19 measures! Good job!!!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Marniok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonios74, General Manager at Casa de Pasto Justiniano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Many thanks for your lovely review, We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Pasto Justiniano also viewed

Seixal, Madeira
 
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 

Been to Casa de Pasto Justiniano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.