We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic! Great grounds!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Church tower of Chiesa Ignano 1778.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Church tower of Chiesa Ignano 1778.
Borgo of Chiesa Ignano 1778 with Church tower Chiesa Ignano tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Church tower of Chiesa Ignano 1778.
Borgo of Chiesa Ignano 1778 with Church tower
Chiesa Ignano tower
North side Chiesa Ignano
Main entrance of Chiesaignano Borgo
Pool
Pool view at Sunset
Pool view  noon time
De luxe suite main bedroom
De luxe suite second bedroom
De luxe suite living room
De luxe suite interiors
De luxe  suite main bedroom door
De luxe suite main door
Junior suite 2 Bedroom splitted, main bedroom
Alba apartament main entrance
Apartament Living room-extra bed
kitchen
Kitchen apartament
Kitchen apartament
Bathroom
apartament bathroom
Bathroom
apartament room
view from south church apartament
Stone church
Gazebo
Horse
Gazebo and Alchemist rose
Gazebo and Alchemist rose
Sunrise at Chiesa Ignano
Sunset at pool
Sunset Mountain in front Chiesa Ignano
Sunset
Historic rose of  Chiesa Ignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano blooming 2013
Rosarium Uetersen at Chiesaignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano blooming 2013
Rose at Chiesa Ignano blooming 2013
Rose at Chiesa Ignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano blooming 2013
Rose at Chiesa Ignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano
Rose at Chiesa Ignano
Camelia at Chiesa Ignano
Flowers at Chiesa Ignano
Flowers at Chiesa Ignano
Flowers at Chiesa Ignano
Flowers at Chiesa Ignano
Flowers at Chiesa Ignano
Lavender at Chiesa Ignano
Natura at Chiesa Ignano
Stream at Chiesa Ignano
Natura at Chiesa Ignano
Natura at Chiesa Ignano
Forest
S.Barbara mountain surrounding Chiesaignano
S.Barbara mountain view surrounding Chiesaignano
Natura at Chiesa Ignano
Kitchen apartament
Bedroom Cottage
Bedroom Cottage
Chiesa Ignano 1778
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marzabotto, Province of Bologna, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Verysmall...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Great grounds!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights in September and it was a wonderful experience.

Gabriele and the whole family were VERY VERY helpful, patient and welcoming. We got great suggestions on restaurants (we liked very much a small place with Puglia cuisine) and surrounding areas to visit. Hiking path starts directly from the grounds and within 45-50 min you find yourself on top of the mountain with 360 view on the park, vineyards, hills.
Hotels grounds are large and with open view on the valley. One feels secluded, but yet close to everything. We went to Parma and castles one day (1 hour or less drive) and to Lucca in Tuscany (1.5 hours) on the second day. And one day we just spent on the grounds, swam and hiked.

Our apartment was in a separate building. There are two units in the building with separate entrances. (Our called Grace / Essex). Two stories, spacious, with kitchen that has all the basics and the coffee machine. Outdoor table on the terrace with lavender and rosemary bushes all around. Views on the hilltops and valley from one side and to the mountain from the other. There are other common spaces and chase-longs one can use. At night one can see milky way in the sky (we don't have it in New York). There were other guests but because grounds are quite large you are barely aware of them.

There are newly added whirlpool and sauna under the fig tree. And figs were most delicious!

We would love to come back in May-June when the roses are blooming.

Thank you Gabriele for your hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Dear Olga thanks a lot for your very nice review, it was a pleasure to host your family here and warmly hope to see you again in spring when we have the 1000 roses garden full blooming. The Monte Sole Park and reserve is a huge area with lot of nature but is also possible in a very short time visit many historic town. Thanks again for the wonderful word , and really hope to see you again, arrivederci dalla bella Italia! Gabriele e Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mancheste...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utter perfection- a slice of Paradise in the Bologna hills”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Everything about this place is wonderful- the location, whilst only 30 minutes train ride to Bologna, feels a million miles away from the city. Surrounded by beautiful green hills , scented roses and views over the valley from the pool and new jacuzzi, we spent the week swimming, lazing throughout the extensive grounds, going on trips by train and walking in the hills. Gabrielle and Irene are great hosts and we loved the breakfasts , dinners and huge range of local wines on offer. We even spent a lovely afternoon at Irene's cookery school in her kitchen making tagliatelle that we ate that evening. Trips by train to the Ferrari museum at Marinello and vinegar tasting at Modena were all great too. Unforgettable holiday and hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thanks a lot for the wonderful review, it was a pleasure to host you and your family, it was really fun to have the Tagliatelle cooking school and it was your first time making handmade pasta but was so good! I hope to see you again and my be have more time to talk about roses and gardening . And Irene and i have the chance to visit you in Manchester! Cari saluti dall'Italia, a big hugs! Gabriele e Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Tranquil Piece of Paradise in the Bologna Province”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This place is just...special. We (husband and wife) stayed here with two small children. We were delighted by everything, particularly the proximity to Bologna and Modena, the wine, the cooking, and the scenery. Our children were delighted by everything, particularly, the abundance of butterflies and flowers, and the swimming pool. This is a beautiful place run by good, honest people.

When you see the vivid greens of the foliage juxtaposed against the pastels of the structures; when you hear the cicadas; when you feel the cool breeze come over the mountaintop; when you taste the terrific cooking and wine on-site, when you talk with the host Gabriele, you get a sense that this place is indeed blessed by a higher power.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather was very hot during our stay, but that is the weather!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Dear Mike and Danielle, i want to thank you for the very nice review made,as i understand you breath the Chiesa Ignano atmosphere . This Church as first settlemet around A.D. 1030 and 1775/1778 the new bigger building, is a very special and blessed area. I live here since 1993 and i understand that probably this little valley with big surrounding mountain on the back is really a jewel of the nature, as you sad the natural Park and Reserve of Monte Sole is quite wild, and is the first of our region for the biodiversity of the birds and wild flowers. And the swimming river and the front view of the old Roman mountains Adonis and Venus make a really nice view. I saw also your daughters playing a lot and very interesting at all this natural environment, and you also was very lucky to be in the day of our village Allocco evening Festival with plenty of people enjoi the music and the food made from local family. So a big hugs from our family to your i hope you will have a wonderful year in California and hope to see you in the future! Thanks again and best regards Irene, Gabriele and all family .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16aliceja...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful hosts, a peaceful retreat and a great base to explore the region”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Chiesa Ignano is a perfect place for exploring the region. High in the hills, it is a peaceful retreat with gardens and views of the surrounding countryside. Our apartment was well equipped and comfortably furnished. Gabriele and Irene are such welcoming hosts; you must book in to enjoy Irene's simple and delicious local cooking (as well as their daughter's wonderful desserts!). We would recommend staying here very highly.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Dear Alice, thanks for your wonderful review, we was delighted to host your family and for us was really a pleasure to spend time with you and tips your daily trips to the nearest town. When a lovely family like yours leave Chiesa Ignano we are little sad , because even if a week is not long time is a piece of journey thru our long life that we spent toghether and that full our soul , and then the time go and my be we will see you again as promised. Best Irene and Gabriele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHarbinge...
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A terrific place to stay with a facinating history and lovely location. We enjoyed the setting, the terrific room, and probably the most enjoyable dinner we had in Italy during our stay. There were excellent hikes leaving right from the property, up and down mountains and through forests. The dinner had fresh ingredients and a really nice local wine. The host was welcoming and told us about creating the B&B out of an ancient church. It was easy to find and get to the place by car, yet it is just a bit out of town on a road that ends at the church so a quiet location as well. The room was fantastic, with all the amenities of home. Actually nicer than home! All stone and with many of the features of the old church preserved, well furnished, complete kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dinner!
Liked least: Wi fi a bit spotty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
I have no words to answer at this wonderful feedback, California is quite far but at the end close to us, if you come back next time my be for longer time you will appreciate also the surrounding area of the Monte Sole Natural Park and Reserve, where is possible to have long and relaxing trek, thanks thanks and thanks again for the visit and the beautiful words that help us very much , best from Irene and Gabriele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing