We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous and great value”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage with its own private garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with its own private garden.
Entrance to the cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Cottage with its own private garden.
Entrance to the cottage.
The dining area.
The kitchen, compact but everything you need with kettle, toaster, hob, oven, fridge and washer/drye
Shower room, fluffy towels provided.
The garden is a wash with snowdrops January & February, Daffodils March, April & May.
The private garden with different flowers giving interest at any time of year.
The River Lune from Devils Bridge. Just one of the nearby local attractions.
Mid Winter but hundreds of snowdrops are making an appearance. To be followed by the daffs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lupton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LawrenceK...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous and great value”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed an extended Easter break and, even if the Lake District weather didn't do its best to make us welcome, Springfield Cottage and Susan certainly did! The location is lovely; quiet enough to make you feel away from the world but in fact very accessible to transport and all the amenities that the splendid Kirkby Lonsdale affords (including Booths, the best supermarket in the country!). The large gardens, back and front, were enjoyed hugely by our two dogs and the surrounding fields - especially at lambing time - made for a delightful ambience.
The cottage itself is more than one can expect. The sitting/dining room gives great comfort and the entertainment setup is a bonus, as is the Wi-Fi. The bedroom is very large with more than ample storage and the bed is particularly comfortable. Then again, the view from the window is so peaceful that sleeping wouldn't present problems. The bathroom is very effective and well-stocked with toiletries. The heating and hot water were excellent. The website states the kitchen to be small and indeed it is, but unless you want to prepare 4-course gourmet meals for 8 - we didn't - then it's not a quibble and the supplies of basics such as milk, etc are very helpful on arrival.
We've stayed in a number of places, some within this area, but this is the first one that actually felt like one's own home away from home with none of the "I wish I'd brought this or that" often experienced.
Given we booked the cottage over a major holiday I am amazed that we paid what we did; it represents fantastic value for money. I can't recommend it highly enough!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you Lawrence for your lovely review and comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahawksey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and excellent price!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Booked Springfield cottage through Air BNB as a surprise for my partners 40th. Susan contacted me almost instantly to organise access codes and location of second bed which I thought was excellent.

On arrival we met with Susan and her husband, we had a brief introduction to the cottage and then we were left to it. The cottage was well presented and even had a small pint of milk in the Friday, which came in useful after the long drive!

Would recommend Springfield Cottage to everybody, it is in an excellent location within 30 mins drive of Kendal and 2 mins from M6.

Thank you again Susan and we hope to see you again in the near future!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thank you Andrew for your lovely comments, glad everything was good for you and you brought the sunshine!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Little Cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a super weekend at Springfield Cottage complete with 3 spaniels and a lot of rain!
Location was good; easy to find and very close to the Lakes and neighbouring Kirkby Lonsdale. Susan couldn't have been more accommodating: milk in the fridge, extra towels and a dog bed for our four legged friends and a lovely reassurance not to worry about muddy footprints!
All 5 of us had a fabulous time - this was our first time taking our dogs away and we'll definitely book again. Thanks for a super stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thanks Kathryn, and thank you for leaving it so clean, quite a feat with your lovely dogs and all the wet weather. I'll try and organise some sun on your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
502Wendy
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked the cottage for New Year and couldn't have been more satisfied. A very warm welcome from the owner, Susan and her 2 lovely dogs. The property is well equipped with everything anyone would need. It was warm and there was always hot water. The property has a large enclosed garden, excellent for anyone who has a dog with them. There is a pub restaurant opposite which is very inviting after a day hiking around. The location is excellent for exploring both The Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. Kirkby Lonsdale is 4 miles away and has a host of lovely, shops, restaurants and pubs. All with a very warm welcome. We would recommend

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for such lovely comments and your recommendation. It was a pleasure to have you stay.......stacking my logs and leaving the cottage so spotless!!! So glad you had a good time after all the flooding everywhere tourism in Cumbria has taken a big hit. Cumbria is OPEN for business is the strap line! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassma...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Peacful stay”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Hotel Was easy to find with very helpful directions from the owner, Arrived at night with a warm welcome, Really warm cosy cottage, with amazing Views. Great for couples who love walking or small families. It is close to a road but it is never heard from the inside and With a pub across the road you cannot go wrong. Great local activities to do, but I would recommend a car for easy travel. Great little touches including biscuits and a pint of pint on arrival for brewing up! Would recommend and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay, and would certainly agree a car is essential as we have no shops with in walking distance and although a bus stop is at the end of the lane the bus only stops about once a day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing