We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
England at its finest

A beautiful quiet place, plenty of space to walk, play and picnic. Stunning scenery, quiet... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Dawn M
via mobile
Enjoyable walk

Very enjoyable walk around the park taking in the church, Italian garden, St Bertram's Bridge were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
johnhp702
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Read all 368 reviews
  
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
238
113
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
113
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stepping stones the river youth hostel national trust tea room beautiful scenery gift shop few hours short walk on site italian garden lovely place peak district lovely walk nt members thorpe cloud riverside walk
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely house built in a park overlooking the river & valleys.
The house is run by the YHA so isn’t available to be seen but the grounds are open & there is a lovely tea room with indoor & outdoor areas to sit & enjoy the views of the gardens. There are also toilet facilities & a gift shop.
There is a short walk around the grounds with steep climbs at certain points. You can also walk from the park to Dovedale & all the way to Milldale- which is quite a hike but definitely worth it.

Thank TheMartins1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ilam Park. We hope that you'll visit again soon to see the wonderful autumn colours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Ilam is a gorgeous town with a grand old English manor as its centre piece. The gardens of this manor/hall are large and manicured. The gardens extend for miles and are a pleasure to wander around. The manor itself is now a Youth Hostel but there is a shop and a tea room visitors can visit. To visit the manor it is free but parking is between 3 pound and 5 pound depending on how long you stay. Ilam is also just a fifteen minute walk to the Dovedale Stepingstones.

Thank FrequentFlier756853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much for your glowing review of our lovely property and grounds. These are maintained by out team of rangers and volunteer gardeners keeping everything in as good and as natural condition as appropriate to the property. There is no parking charge for National Trust members at Ilam. We hope you are able to visit us in the future and further enjoy the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Free parking if you are a national trust member which is great.

I had a nice relaxing walk here with my dog. There is areas where you walk through a field with sheep and lambs so it's best to keep your dog on a lead through these parts.

There is a nice walk along the rive where you cross over a bridge and the river water looks beautiful clear here.

Thank Pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much for your review of our lovely grounds and we very much appreciate your comments about people keeping their pets on a lead. We have many wild and domestic animals in the area and we always ask that people keep their dogs on leads. There is also a walk from Ilam village to Dovedale which has an alternative cattle free foothpath which is suitable for walkers with their dogs. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

A favourite venue to visit with a youth hostel and small gift shop on site. There are plenty of walks available and a time table of activities. Unfortunately the boil holes weren’t available on the day we went due to a landslide! The cottages in the village are so pretty and glad to see the usual ice cream van there! Paid parking unless you have a National Trust card.

Thank Shung1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Business Support Coordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you'll come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Lovely walks and well kept gardens around The Youth Hostel. There are facilities to eat there including a bar. Plenty of good quality parking facilities on hard landscaped roads. Ladies in the Gift shop were helpful and friendly.

Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you very much for your top rated review and it is lovely to receive such good feedback for our team, your comments have been passed on to them, we hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews