We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English countryside at its best.”
Review of Ilam Park

Ilam Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ilam Park is cared for by the National Trust and offers space to play and explore, woodland walks and far reaching views towards Dovedale and Thorpe Cloud. The visitor centre, toilets, shop and tea-room are open daily throughout the year. Ilam Park welcomes dogs on leads all year round. Pay and display car park on site - Free parking for National Trust members.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful place and a great example of our English Countryside

We travelled from Nottinghamshire
Just over an hour and we were in Ilam.
Gorgeous village, well maintained gardens and a great place to walk with your dog
There’s lots of sheep roaming so need to keep your dog on the lead.

We walked from Ilam to Dovedale and the stepping stones
There is a car park at Dovedale but we enjoyed the walk as it was such a lovely day
Definitely recommend

1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Business Support Coordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments about Ilam Park, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you'll visit again soon to explore more of the White Peak countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 57 reviews
"stepping stones"
in 29 reviews
"youth hostel"
in 25 reviews
"national trust"
in 51 reviews
"tea room"
in 46 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 13 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"few hours"
in 12 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 12 reviews
"short walk"
in 9 reviews
"on site"
in 11 reviews
"peak district"
in 18 reviews
"lovely place"
in 13 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 14 reviews
"italian garden"
in 7 reviews
"thorpe cloud"
in 19 reviews
"nt members"
in 9 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely house built in a park overlooking the river & valleys.
The house is run by the YHA so isn’t available to be seen but the grounds are open & there is a lovely tea room with indoor & outdoor areas to sit & enjoy the views of the gardens. There are also toilet facilities & a gift shop.
There is a short walk around the grounds with steep climbs at certain points. You can also walk from the park to Dovedale & all the way to Milldale- which is quite a hike but definitely worth it.

Thank TheMartins1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ilam Park. We hope that you'll visit again soon to see the wonderful autumn colours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Ilam is a gorgeous town with a grand old English manor as its centre piece. The gardens of this manor/hall are large and manicured. The gardens extend for miles and are a pleasure to wander around. The manor itself is now a Youth Hostel but there is a shop and a tea room visitors can visit. To visit the manor it is free but parking is between 3 pound and 5 pound depending on how long you stay. Ilam is also just a fifteen minute walk to the Dovedale Stepingstones.

Thank FrequentFlier756853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much for your glowing review of our lovely property and grounds. These are maintained by out team of rangers and volunteer gardeners keeping everything in as good and as natural condition as appropriate to the property. There is no parking charge for National Trust members at Ilam. We hope you are able to visit us in the future and further enjoy the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Free parking if you are a national trust member which is great.

I had a nice relaxing walk here with my dog. There is areas where you walk through a field with sheep and lambs so it's best to keep your dog on a lead through these parts.

There is a nice walk along the rive where you cross over a bridge and the river water looks beautiful clear here.

Thank pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Facilities Co-ordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much for your review of our lovely grounds and we very much appreciate your comments about people keeping their pets on a lead. We have many wild and domestic animals in the area and we always ask that people keep their dogs on leads. There is also a walk from Ilam village to Dovedale which has an alternative cattle free foothpath which is suitable for walkers with their dogs. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

A favourite venue to visit with a youth hostel and small gift shop on site. There are plenty of walks available and a time table of activities. Unfortunately the boil holes weren’t available on the day we went due to a landslide! The cottages in the village are so pretty and glad to see the usual ice cream van there! Paid parking unless you have a National Trust card.

Thank Shung1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Business Support Coordinator at Ilam Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you'll come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ilam Park also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Peak District National Park, England
 
Tissington, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Ilam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing