We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Yashna M
Johannesburg, South Africa

Beautiful staycation!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Apr 2024
What an amazing stay at Vivari Hotel.
The spa, the room and the service was incredible.
We felt so special with the all extra touches and delightful treats.
We are now making it a frequent girls weekend away.
Highly recommended staycation for friends and couples!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wikus Lubbe, General Manager at Vivari Hotel and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 08 Apr 2024
Dear Yashna,

We are delighted to hear about your beautiful stay at Vivari Hotel. Your kind words about our spa, rooms, and service truly warm our hearts. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back for many more memorable weekends.

Best regards,
Vivari Hotel and Spa Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 700
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.6 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 550
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 169
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 651
10.6 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 088
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 090
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 088
  • Priceline
11.8 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 2 000
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 000
  • Vio.com
9.5 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free parking
R 1 520
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 520
14.8 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Room service
R 4 766
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 770
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 308
  • Priceline
10.2 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
3.9 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 198
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Dairy Rooms: Premium Room View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 191
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
9.6 km from Vivari Hotel and Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Krugersdorp
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
19
3
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
3
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2023

The hotel and grounds are great. Rooms are modern and clean, fast Wifi and include in room Netflix. The "jogging" track is possibly oversold as it is effectively a 1km loop around the 500m of fencing running parallel to the river.

The hotel caters more to conferences rather than the holiday or business traveller. It has a fantastic spa the grounds and pool are lovely, serene and very zen-like.

The staff are what shatters the peace and quiet of this beautiful place. They shout, constantly, from one end of the restaurant to the other, from the bar to the restaurant even outside rooms in the hallways. Checking in I thought there was a party in the small reception area. There were 4 staff members engaged in a rowdy "discussion" - I felt like an inconvenience, the noise was defining when entering.

Perhaps the single biggest disappointment was the extortionate food and beverage costs. Two SINGLE gin and tonics (standard gin nothing special) were R420!!!!. Meals in the restaurant are similarly outrageously priced, meal are ok but not Micheline standard yet prices are right up there while service is nowhere near the price point.

My recommendation for food and drink is to grab an Uber and a 5 minute trip to either Silverstar Casino or Cradleston Mall will provide a plethora of tasty well well-priced options.

Room tip: Get rooms as far away from car park as possible
Date of stay: August 2023
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2023

Fantastic hotel - designed to perfection, excellent service from all teams (spa, facilities, restaurant). Amazing massages, and delicious lunch and snacks. 5 star accommodation and facilities. Will be back soon!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NivanMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Dear Nivan Moodley,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vivari Hotel and Spa by Mantis.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Management Vivari Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2023 via mobile

This is a very modern hotel, with great architecture and furnishings. Staff were all very friendly, and the food was very good. The hotel definitely has some teething issues though. Room was freezing because there were gaps between the door and door frame, so the heater couldn't cool the room properly. Water spilled out from the shower into the bedroom carpet. In the morning there was a just a trickle of water, couldn't take a shower. This happened all morning until I checked out.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nikhil_Advani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2023

Dear Nikhil Advani,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vivari Hotel and Spa by Mantis.

We will review the points mentioned with regards to the door and door frame, water spilling onto the carpet and the water issue with the operations team and have all addressed.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will see the points mentioned resolved.

Sincerely,

Jegie Padmanathan
General Manager
Vivari Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2023

Wow. What an exquisite and exclusive Boutique hotel and spa within close proximity to Johannesburg.

From the moment we arrived to the time we departed, we were treated like Royalty. The Service was outstanding from each and every staff member at the hotel. Compliments to all the Chefs as the cuisine was superb throughout our stay.

The indoor and outdoor dining area to the spa, to the pool area are all surrounded by beautiful gardens, landscapes and greenery and set in a very tranquil and serene environment.

The Rooms are luxurious and comfortable . The hotel and all the rooms are uniquely and beautifully decorated.

We had a a special occasion and we were extremely well taken care of with nothing to fault on.

A very Special Thank you to everyone at Vivari Hotel and Spa for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable. What a Wonderful experience!

I highly recommend this Exquisite and Exclusive Hotel & Spa.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nalsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Good Day Nalsin,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such excellent feedback about your experience at the Vivari Hotel and Spa by Mantis. We are proud to have made your stay a truly memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Management Vivari Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2023

Still a bit of a construction site, but it’s a lovely establishment. If you are looking to get a deep massage this is not the place. The therapists are lovely but they just aren’t skilled. I let the front desk lady know and she just said “oh”

Room tip: The jacuzzi needs a clean, there were bugs in it
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curiosity25270572853
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on our Spa facility. We would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations in terms of the standard of the spa therapist. We will ensure that this is addressed with the relevant staff involved and ensure the standard of service is addressed. We truly believe that we offer a place and standard that sets us apart and that you did not experience this in this visit does not mean that you should give us another opportunity to show you what we can truly deliver as a world class experience in our award-winning spa. Management Vivari Hotel and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews