We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy the food”

Bukhara GrandWest Casino
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Goodwood
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Bukhara is my husband's favourite restaurant, so it was a no-brainier to take him there for Father's Day. We decided to celebrate it with a dinner, so were at the restaurant on a Saturday night. We were very surprised to see how empty the restaurant was - GrandWest itself was buzzing + very full, but Bukhara had very few guests.
This could possibly be due to them pricing themselves too high, as they priced higher than most. We still really enjoyed the meal, the quality of the food was excellent and the waitress attentive. Our sons had butter chicken, a sure winner. I had a brinjal dish which was very tasty, and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his lamb curry.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle T, General Manager at Bukhara GrandWest Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. So glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you chose us to celebrate fathers day. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

We reserved a table at Bukhara several weeks in advance of the Dynamo show.
Our group of 4 arrived at 6:15pm and were promptly seated and handed the limited Showtime menu. When placing our drinks order we also tried to place our food order and was told by the waitress that there was no hurry. Drinks arrived approx 6:35pm and we then proceeded to place our food order. Despite several follow ups and plenty of assurances from the staff that our food would arrive in time for the show it never did! At 7:52pm there was still no sign of the food or any explanation from the staff! At this point we had to leave to make the show.
It is an absolute disgrace that a restaurant of this caliber can treat their customers this way. If the restaurant was having issues they should have notified us so we could make alternative food arrangements but instead the staff kept reassuring us that our food was on the way. We won’t be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mavis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2018

Dear Mavis,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We had tickets for Dynamo at 8 and went to Bukhara at 6.20 with a party of 6.
The menu was a simple "Show Menu" with a few basic choices.
By 7.15 we were worried because no food was coming out of the kitchen and we were running out of time. We made 3 visits downstairs asking to talk to management who were nowhere to be seen. We walked out at 7.30 and went to the show very hungry and furious because our Birthday celebration was ruined

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2018

Dear Chris,

We are terribly sorry to read about your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Bukhara has always been my preferred restaurant before a show at Grand West, but last night's experience destroyed that completely. I can't think of much else they could have done wrongly: hopeless service, food was both below par and cold, management non-existent and almost caused us to miss the start of the show. I will certainly not return, not do I recommend it to others.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 0ccasionalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2018

Dear 0ccasionalTourist,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 6.15 pm, thinking we would have plenty of time to enjoy our meal before heading to the show. We ordered from the show menu, thinking this would be fast. Despite asking the staff every 10 minutes where our meal was, by 7.30, we still hadn’t received anything to eat. Unbelievable. Along with several other guests, we eventually had to leave. The restaurant is sheer chaos ... horrible experience.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 624jennyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2018

Hi there Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukhara GrandWest Casino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Goodwood, Cape Town
 

Been to Bukhara GrandWest Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.