We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
199
12
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
12
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef chris hot tub old church koi pond body jets prince edward county smoked tomato sauce church clock balcony overlooking the pool swedish massage charcuterie plate mango gelato refreshing dip plated breakfast the salt water pool robes and slippers beautiful gem
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Our ladies get away this year was at The Manse and what a wonderful time we had! Kathleen and Chris ( fab chef) are great hosts, the Inn is beautiful and the massages from Rita are fabulous! And get her husband to give you a tour of the wineries, he’s very informative. We are definitely going back next year!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Chris prepares scrumptious breakfast and dinner menus, while Kathleen serves up true county hospitality!
Beautiful throughout! Spectacular grounds.
Be sure to view miraculous evening primroses at dusk.

Room Tip: Room 2 has beautiful view of church clock tower.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren53R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

What a lovely spot in Prince Edward County! We organized a special family get together for two nights at the Manse in June. We lucked out with three days of incredible weather, which made the experience even more special. The Manse is lovingly restored with high quality materials, and an eye for detail. The gardens are impeccably maintained and the pool and outdoor seating area is spacious. Kathleen and Chris are attentive hosts and were able to cater to the vegan and vegetarian members of our group, including generous breakfasts and wonderful vegan ice cream they sourced in Picton. Chris even made us delicious ‘vegan pulled pork’ for our first night’s welcome dinner. A bonus is the very central location in Picton; walking distance from the Main Street shops and a great base for wine tours. We highly recommend the Manse.

Room Tip: ! and 4 have a balcony and views on the pool and garden, 2 and 3 are more spacious. The third floor has more rooms and a small suite.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HansontheBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Excellent getaway! :) Very clean, great hospitality, wonderful food and definitely looking forward to coming back!:) Went for a girls getaway with my daughter and we had a fantastic time. Innkeeper Kathleen is wonderful, warm and welcoming and chef Chris is a superior cook, blending flavors you wont forget. All this topped off with a heavenly massage by their RMT, Rita Dabrowski. We highly recommend this oasis to anyone that wants to escape their everyday life and come back refreshed.

Room Tip: Check out their website- they have awesome photos of the rooms Rooms 1 and 4 share their own balcony
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina172018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Fabulous place to stay right in downtown Picton. Price is reasonable for what you get - we were in room #1, which has a balcony overlooking the pool and hot tub. Rooms are very clean and well appointed with small touches like his and hers robes. Breakfast is served from 8 until 10 AM and includes a good variety of Chef Chris's creations. I loved my eggs benedict with a smoked tomato sauce instead of the more traditional hollandaise, but my wife tried it and was less keen - she decided to have granola, yogurt and fruit salad. Lots of other options are on the menu - I had the omelette the second morning and it was good too. The hand smoked bacon is not to be missed.
We also booked a dinner, which is now a 5-course set menu with a wine pairings option (which we selected). The 5 courses were: 1) a cold asparagus salad; 2) a cured salmon rosette; 3) chicken dumplings in fresh chicken stock; 4) beef tenderloin in a port wine reduction; and 5) rich ginger chocolate mousse cake. All were superb - particularly the chicken dumplings. Pairings included 3 wines - a sparkling rose, a pinot grigio and a robust red zinfandel. If there had been more diners having the pairings, we would have been offered 4 or 5 kinds - what we had worked well though.
Quantities of wine and food were quite generous too. My wife needed a bit less than her portions, and I was happy to eat what she did not want. Warm fresh butter rolls with basil butter were possibly the best we've ever had (from the bakery across the street).
One of the best things about staying at the Manse is the couple who manage it, Kathleen and her chef husband, Chris. When we were putting some artisan cheese and cider we had purchased into the fridge on our second morning, I couldn't help but notice that the smells coming from the kitchen were incredible. Chris said, "come see what's cooking" and showed me the two trays of stock - chicken for the dumplings and beef for the tenderloin that were roasting away in the oven. They will also give you recommendations on restaurants, things to do, etc., and they will also share stories about the various celebrity chefs who have moved to the County in the last few years.
Our last stay here was exactly 5 years earlier (wedding anniversary both times) and both times we were left with the feeling we had been well looked after and extremely well fed!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews