We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing with Andrew of Salmon Eye Charters”

Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures
Ranked #7 of 37 Tours in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers guided multi day and single day fishing trips from Ucluelet for salmon and halibut in 27-29 ft sport fishing boats all with large cabins, toilets and top of the line gear.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently had the pleasure of fishing with Salmon Eye charters. Our guide was Andrew and we felt very fortunate to have him. We had a three day trip planned and every day we were consistently one of the first boats back to the harbour. Of course, first boat back means we limited out early! Andrew knew were the fish were, both Salmon and Halibut and we went home with our limit. A big cooler full!

We had purchased the gold package so that included accommodations and cleaning and packaging of fish. The accommodations were top notch and our fish were clean, frozen and ready to go when it was time to leave. Can’t thank Andrew enough for the his knowledge and professional approach. It was a great experience and I’m sure we’ll be back!

Dmytro Sawka

Thank _sawkadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon_Eye_Charters, Owner at Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Dmytro, thanks for leaving this review and making the investment to come fishing with us! It was great having you come and we greatly appreciate it. Enjoy all your salmon and halibut and let us know if you need any recipes!

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great fishing"
in 11 reviews
"caught fish"
in 6 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 15 reviews
"halibut"
in 20 reviews
"live squid"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 6 reviews
"fishing grounds"
in 3 reviews
"king salmon"
in 2 reviews
"great days"
in 2 reviews
"trip home"
in 2 reviews
"first rate"
in 3 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 2 reviews
"vancouver island"
in 3 reviews
"sam"
in 37 reviews
"accommodations"
in 9 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

Fishing was fantastic. Our guide Andrew suggested going to the outer bank. We were the only boat out there. The swells were between 5 and 10 feet. We fished for about 3 hours and caught 48 fish. Springs, coho and halibut.

Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon_Eye_Charters, Owner at Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Patrick, thanks for coming fishing with us for 3 days and I am happy you had a great time reeling in fish. Hopefully your arms have recovered! Enjoy your salmon and halibut and have a great rest of your summer!

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

My wife and I booked the gold package for three days with Salmon Eye and had a first rate time. Heavy winds kept us inside, but the Chinook action was great, and we imported our limit to the US.
Our guide, Andrew, was great and really put us on fish. We had hookups when many around did not and we got to be selective thanks to the barbless hooks and Andrew's release skills in not handling the smaller fish. He showed us the technique for setting the hook and getting disengaged from the downrigger and the rest of the time did the hard work of getting the rigs out, but let us enjoy the actual activity of watching for fish, setting the hook and bringing them to the boat. Very easy going and fun to fish with.
After cleaning the fish they were brought to a local processor to vacuum pack, and freeze for the trip home (with the proper paperwork for export and import). This is a great feature.
Looking forward to returning to Ucluelet (very pristine and beautiful) and fishing with Salmon Eye again.

Thank edentonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon_Eye_Charters, Owner at Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Jack, thanks again for coming fishing with us and you and Kathy were a very easy guests to have on the boat and staying here. We looking forward to having you come back again and enjoy your new winter supply of fresh salmon and halibut!

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We went out with Captain Keith. He was great! We hooked a limit of salmon and rockfish. We are stocked up for the year. We did the silver package and had a great time. We seemed to get the fish even when the boats around us weren't doing so good. Having the fish delivered to the local processing plant was super handy. We just went by Saturday morning and picked up our frozen vacuum packed fillets. I took my 12 year old son, my father in law, a cousin and a friend. Everybody had a great time. The accommodations were perfect. Not super fancy, but we all had a comfortable bed and a kitchen. Just how I like it. Beautiful country and wonderfully friendly people.

2  Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon_Eye_Charters, Owner at Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Phillip, thanks for leaving us a review and I am happy you had a great time and that you got a stockpile of fish for the winter. Keith enjoyed fishing you and sends his regards!

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We couldn't be happier with our Salmon Eye experience. A group of us celebrated our 60th birthdays and my Dad's 80th. The wives that came loved the well equipped Condo as well (The Ridge) . On arriving we were contacted by Sam and Scott to make sure everything was OK and what to expect the following morning. Fishing was really solid with all the Salmon we could keep, 7 Halibut and several Rock fish (really nice Red Snappers). Andrew and Scott got us out as early and stayed at it as long as needed and boats where great. Processing of fish was a nice touch and we brought it all home frozen solid. Coming from the east we had very good connections to Comox thru Calgary and a great drive thru some gorgeous country to get to Ucluelet. First Class experience in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. Highly recommended to anyone thinking of doing up a Salmon fishing trip right.

Thank davidjones743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon_Eye_Charters, Owner at Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi David, thanks again for coming and fishing with us and taking the time to leave this review. I am happy you got a supply of salmon and halibut and more importantly had fun! The guys enjoyed fishing your group and would gladly have you back.

Cheers, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures also viewed

 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Salmon Eye Charters - Day Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing