We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewells fjord tour”
Review of Sewell's Marina

Sewell's Marina
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Vancouver 17-Foot Self-Driven Boat Rental
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just 20 minutes from downtown Vancouver in Horseshoe Bay. Come experience our Ocean Adventures including the exciting Sea Safari guided 2 hour eco-tour, self-drive boat rentals, and deep sea guided salmon fishing charters. Explore islands, boat-access only marine parks, views of downtown and all that Howe Sound has to offer. Set your own course and experience Vancouver from a whole new point of view. It's easy, it's safe and it's a boat-load of fun!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I had a great time! the weather was clear and sunny saw many seals and two bald eagles. It was nice to see the mountain views from the water. Having the red survival suits was greatly appreciated as the wind was chilly. Tour guide was knowledgeable and great! I believe her name was Cassy? (Sorry)

Thank Andrea_adventure550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, General Manager at Sewell's Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank-you very much for your review and for joining us on the Sea Safari! Yes the guide was Casey. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, in the meantime all the best. Kind regards, the Team at Sewell's Marina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"sea safari"
in 18 reviews
in 10 reviews
"survival suits"
in 7 reviews
"two hours"
in 8 reviews
"circle tour"
in 5 reviews
"howe sound"
in 26 reviews
"small boat"
in 5 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 6 reviews
"wild ride"
in 3 reviews
"sea spray"
in 3 reviews
"hour tour"
in 3 reviews
"boat ride"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"different perspective"
in 3 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 2 reviews
"a hoot"
in 2 reviews
"saw seals"
in 3 reviews

10 - 14 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

My son and I were part of a 2 ½ hour Sea Safari Circle Tour recently our group consisting of ages 13 – 80 plus yrs. The Sewell’s office staff was most welcoming and helpful as we checked in.
We met our guide, Cyle, an extremely pleasant, calm and professional young man as he set the tone for what was to be a fabulous experience. Check in takes about 20 minutes so arrival before your booked time is a good idea. Cyle made sure we were properly suited up into the maverick survival suits and then succinctly explained the safety features of the craft itself and the safety procedures for the trip. Having some mobility issues I greatly appreciated Cyle’s assistance in boarding and exiting the raft, and his check-ins during the trip.
The trip itself was fabulous! We do live in the region but had little knowledge of the many historical features and anecdotes Cyle shared with us during the tour as we wound our way along the shore of Lions Bay, past Anvil, Bowen and Hut Islands and the bird life along the way. Cyle was an inspiring advocate for the local environment and its future: his commentary both informative and entertaining. The scenery was stunning and the raft a fun ride with something for all ages.
As it became somewhat windy and rainy the last part of the tour, quite a few huge sprays of water elicited a lot of laughter. So you may like to bring a light change of clothes (which are safely stored at the marina office). Despite the precipitation we were toasty warm in those suits. Stunning views of Vancouver with Mt. Baker in the background made for a lovely wrap up to the trip back as we headed back towards Horseshoe Bay.
I would wholeheartedly encourage visitors and residents alike to treat themselves to one of these wonderful Sea Safari excursions!

Thank DianeH2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This was a great Father's Day afternoon event. Alex was our guide for the 4:30 pm, 2 hour cruise of Howe Sound. We saw so many things that we have viewed from a distance from the ferry or the Sea to Sky Highway.
The "Mystery Falls", Christy island, and the elusive Harlequin Ducks.
As the day was warm, it's still good to bring a jacket. Being on the water, and speeding along, it does tend to cool down, even with wearing the full piece flotation suits.
Arriving 1/2 hour early is a must so that you can get the most of the 2 hour tour.
It was a great and I know I will do this again.

Thank Mary-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Is it ethical to charge a customer $150 for normal wear and tear on the blades, simply because we are what the staff called "new customers who had bad luck that our blades were hit by a rock under water?"

This righteous chick does not think so!


For a special family occasion, we rented a 17 feet 90hp boat. The female safety instructor Teegan was pleasant and pointed out all the "don'ts", which we happily followed during our 5 hour perfect day on the open water; however this wonderful day was overshadowed by the awful incident at the end of the day, when we were told about the extra cost we are responsible for.

Insurance coverage is mandatory -- a $8 coverage for upto $400 in deductible, or a $10 for upto $800. Since this type of wear and tear on the blade can happen to anyone new or experienced renters alike, since there can be debris on the water whether we can see or not does it mean that almost all renter will be charged an additional $150?! or worse?! I can't imagine that's the normal business practice! Or, are they gauging us because they feel we are new renters and do not know any better?

RENTERS BEWARE! I sure hope that our horrendous experience does not happen to anyone else in the future.

Is this unethical and unprofessional practice common in the boat rental business?

Thank FunTravels3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, General Manager at Sewell's Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank-you for your review. It is unfortunate that damage was done to the propeller while you were out on the rental boat. Although it doesn't happen often it does occur from time to time. This kind of damage can happen from making contact with wood debris or from rocks below the surface and is not general wear and tear on the boat or motor. The damage incurred to the propeller on your vessel was repairable and we only charge for the repair, not for the labour. This is based on our cost and has no mark up or service charge.

As far as the deductible insurance, this is required to discourage some renters that would intentionally do damage to the boat. Over the 87 years of renting boats we have had incidences of intentional damage. Having a deductible where you will be charged if damage is done to the boat discourages this sort of behavior and protects our equipment so it is in good shape for the next user. Regardless of whether damage is intentional or not - deductibles are very common with car rentals, ATV, and other equipment.

We hope you understand that we are not taking advantage of new boaters or experienced ones, we just need to keep our equipment in good and safe condition – the deductible coverage and holding the client responsible for the first level of damage is the only way to do this.

The team did not charge you for the damage done to the propeller when you returned and we have released the pre-authorization with the hope that you will visit again and have a complete understanding of the damage insurance policy.

Thanks for your understanding,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

This would be a great activity for a small group or family as each boat will accommodate 12 to 16 people. Husband and I enjoyed the 4:30 tour on Sunday, May 27. Cyle was our guide/driver and he was great. Not only was he fun, but he was also very informative. Special suits are provided for warmth and to keep their clients dry. There are 3 different tours and I expect the other two are just as wonderful as the one we went on. My advice is to just book one of these wonderful trips. You won't regret it.

Thank travelvaluetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sewell's Marina also viewed

Bowen Island, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia

Been to Sewell's Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing