We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage and location, owners couldn't...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Otter's Retreat

Otter's retreat
Visit England '5 star'!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Otter's retreat
Visit England '5 star'!
Large patio with BBQ Red deer in the area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Otter's retreat
Visit England '5 star'!
Large patio with BBQ
Red deer in the area
Plough (not in use!)
inglenook
Log burner
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Excellent views from both bedrooms.
Classical wetroom furniture
Landing
Wetroom 2
Dramatic well equipped kitchen
More of the kitchen
Lounge area
Dining area
Spacious open plan relaxing room
the approach
More of the approach
Part of the extensive view
Wincle School
Wincle Church
More views
Beautiful countryside
Wow!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wincle, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roam67403...
1 review
“Fantastic cottage and location, owners couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for a long weekend in November. The cottage was a very high standard in a lovely location with lots of local walks. The owners were very helpful and there was a fire lit for our arrival.
Hope to go back at some point.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words, we do hope to see you again.
Ian Burns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shutts81
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, cosy retreat from the world.”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016

After an extended six hour drive we could not have wished for a more welcoming sight then what we received upon reaching Otters Retreat. Both Ian and Angela made us feel very welcome and homemade goodies left for us were very welcome! The cottage was, as stated before in other reviews, presented to a very high standard and great attention to detail. The kitchen in particular had just about everything you could need to cook with, new appliances and all the extras that you forget to bring like clingfilm and sandwich bags.
Our three year old thought it fantastic that she had a huge bed and bathroom all to herself and loved seeing and hearing the farm's sheep in the morning.
Beautiful views down the valley from the front door and not only a pub with 5 mins walk from the cottage but a micro brewery 5 mins walk further down!
The owners couldn't do enough to help and really made our stay. We will defiantly be returning to this idyllic part of the world and to our wonderful hosts.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for this review and we do hope to see you again.
Angela and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Otters Retreat”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

An idyllic retreat in this beautiful part of England. The cottage renovation is of a very high standard and the hosts Angela and Ian provide exceptional hospitality, ensuring you get the most out of your break. Wonderful home made cake and marmalade, and fresh eggs, waiting for us on arrival, all much appreciated!!
Amazing views and walks right on the doorstep, with a great local pub within walking distance!!
The weather was not quite warm enough to enjoy the patio area this time around but I have no doubt that we will return to try it out in the near future!
I would highly recommend Otters Retreat to friends and family, which is a true endorsement of what it has to offer....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you very much June.
Very much looking forward to your return.
Angela and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanniehi...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Incredible, beautiful cottage in paradise!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage is impeccable, the cleanliness and design of the cottage is second to none, the friendliness and support of the owners was over and above expected after a difficult time due to my car breaking down! With the helps of Ian and Angela we were taken care of in such a manner than I cannot thank them enough for their kindness and generosity.

The scenery and walks were breathtaking and wonderful over the sunny bank holiday, the facilities and surroundings were perfect, quiet and very relaxing- Just what we needed. For the cost of this property you just cannot fault it and we will definitely be returning.

The beds were so comfortable I felt like I was sleeping in clouds! - the best nights sleep we have had in a very long time!

Thank you so much Ian and Angela for this incredible property, for everything you did to make our stay truly wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: host, bed, fire, walking, location.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWil...
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful touch of luxury in the beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Wow, what can I say. Our family spent a week in this luxurious property. Although the weather was mixed, it was great to come back to such a warm and inviting cottage. The attention to detail was obvious from the outset. The feature fireplace and and warm log burning fire provided a focal point in the evenings. The bedrooms and bathrooms continued the luxuriant theme and the whole place was spotless. Overall the holiday was enhanced by staying at this property, and it was a pleasure to meet the owners who were very helpful.

We would highly recommend this place, and will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, the facilities, the equipment, the cleanliness.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank you for your compliments, we would look forward to seeing you
again as you were our perfect guests.
Best wishes Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing