We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“was very good,everything i had expected”
other travellers have booked this property
Club House & Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Club House & Pool
Infinity Pool Private Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Club House & Pool
Infinity Pool
Private Beach
Kids Play Area
House Exterior
Richmond Estate Community
Pool Side Lounge
Dining Room
Bedroom #2
Pool side
Bedroom #1 (Master)
Bedroom #2
Bathroom
Living/ Dining Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Priory, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
142erice
Conyers, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“was very good,everything i had expected”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

dwright keep intouch with me up to the time of my departure from atl,he had his housekeeper shannkay cooked a complimentary dinner,curry chicken and rice and the good old fashion lemon ade drink.mr dwright checked from time to time to make sure we were comfortable and had everything that we needed.the villa was great and i will be seeing u next year October.keep up the great work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the housekeeper,shannkay was the best,very good cook,very polite n respectful
Liked least: problem with the hot water,but mr Dwright took care of that right away.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamtam559
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Do not be fooled by the pictures that you see here.”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I'm so disappointed with this place and the owner's behavior, that I don't know where to begin.
The furniture and fixtures in the house are below standard and uncomfortable, there was no light in one of the bathrooms, the television remotes didn't work, and the living room, kitchen and dining rooms were suffocatingly hot due to the fact that the windows had a thick mesh over them which prevented air from flowing through the house.
Day after day we ddiscovered that the house was not ready to accommodate guests. For example - one of the toilets was leaking, the bed post in the master bedroom was broken, the bedclothes in one of the rooms was ripped and so old that they had become thin and covered in rolls, and the kitchen tap had the hot and cold water coming from the wrong side, and there were chipped plates and mugs in the cupboards. There was also the problem with ants. I would get up in the morning to find an army of them furiously crawling all over the kitchen counter, and they were always on the front porch.
The owner was very condescending, and whenever I raised any of the issues to him, he acted like I was imagining things, and had the audacity to tell me that I should have paid him MORE money for using 2 bedrooms instead of one!
Most shocking and disappointing of all was the so-called beach. Located a mile away from the house, this beach was clearly not being maintained. It had piles of garbage sitting in heaps along it, and the water was full of chunky weed. I walked along the full length of the beach and couldn't find a clear bit of water for my daughter to splash about in.

All I can say to anyone that might be considering booking this place is - keep looking. Do not waste your money here. Theres much better accommodation in Ocho Rios, in far better locations, that are properly managed, where you'll have easy access to shopping, nice beaches, and restaurants etc... unlike this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2014Parke...
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Quiet”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa at Richmond is furnished to a very comfortable standard and kept clean daily by the wonderful Shannakay, who also cooked us lovely Jamaican meals. She was able to give us local information and arranged a taxi driver for us to use for our stay who was very helpful and trustworthy. It is a quiet and relaxing estate. Very safe and beautiful. The mountain view from the veranda I will remember. The children loved the pool. It is a good size, and never really busy. The pool house has a pool table table tennis, tv and drinks and snacks are sold, but it is also quiet. The private beach is lovely and the sea is so warm, however it is a 5 minute taxi ride away. We walked one day, but it is very hot to walk that distance and the walk is along the main road. We did some wonderful trips to Dunns River, The Blue Hole, Horse-riding and a full day tour around the west of the Island, with a guide we met on Ocho Rios Beach - (Captain Dave). Trips with him are cheaper than the hotel prices and he is very trustworthy and knowledgable. Tell him Chuttie recommended him! If you like quiet evenings this villa will suite you. If you want to go out in the evenings, there are some restaurantes in Ocho Rios. You will need to take a taxi (20 mins) about US$25. We found it very economical to have Shannakay cook for us though. We found out that there is a beach party at Bubbles Beach Bar on Sundays and in Ochi at Margaritaville on Monday nights. We never went as they don't really start until 11pm. A great holiday was had by all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Very quiet and nothing to do in the evenings.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitcliff...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa, amenities, services, security and a great location!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent 7 days at Villa Richmond with my family. Our main concern was security, and so it was very re-assuring to arrive to a very polite and professional security personnel at the entrance to the complex who checked all details properly before letting us in. We thought "Yes!" Then we arrived at the villa and were pleasantly greeted by Shannakay the housekeeper who familiarised us with the villa, supplying all relevant and emergency numbers. The property was clean and properly furnished, exactly as the pictures and description on the website. We had no plans to request the housekeeper to prepare a meal as we arrived very late afternoon, we thought "let's eat out", but to our surprise Shannakay put everything on hold, went to the grocery store and prepared us a a fantastic Jamaican meal!
Our kids love the pool area in particular and spent many many hours there.

We travel extensively around the world including visiting 9 of the other Caribbean Islands, and can truly say that our stay here was like having our own villa in Jamaica. Our previous experience of a holiday in a villa in Italy was constantley interrupted by the owner phoning all the time asking if everything is ok. That did not happen here, as Shannakay took care of everything including taking us to Scotchies Jerk Centre, a "must do" in Jamaica...What a fantastic housekeeper. As seasoned travellers, we notice everything about where we stay and we noticed the gardener, Mario was extremely diligent, polite and professional. Would we return?.......yes....we are attending a work colleague's wedding in Feb next year, and was going to stay at the Grand Palladium in Lucea, but after our experience we will book in here again...aaaaaahhhh restful and peaceful.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. Shan , you were such a wonderful guest, and we enjoyed hosting you. Your comments are very much valued and we really appreciate that you felt the apartment was beautiful and that great customer service was received. Our commitment to investing in our property will continue, in order to ensure that our guests feel safe, secure, and have a fantastic experience EVERYTIME. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocho Rios. Best Regards, Dwight
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not having spent more time there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. ,You were a wonderful guest, and we enjoyed hosting you. Your comments are very much valued and we really appreciate that you felt the apartment was beautiful and that great customer service was received. Our commitment to investing in our property will continue, in order to ensure that our guests feel safe, secure, and have a fantastic experience EVERYTIME. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocho Rios. Best Regards, Dwight
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing