We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 388)
Filter reviews
2 388 results
Traveller rating
978
612
388
257
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
612
388
257
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub shuttle bus emerald lake beautiful location winter wonderland car park shuttle service get away day trippers parking lot cross country skiing guest parking wood burning main restaurant dining room open fire canadian rockies
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 2 388 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My husband and I were so completely disappointed with our stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. Despite the picturesque scenery and stunning property the staff were completely miserable, rude and dismissive. We thought that perhaps we had a poor check-in experience, but aside from our evening meal, each interaction with staff confirmed that the staff could not have cared less about the experiences of their guests. While the rooms have a beautiful view they absolutely need some updating.

Now, don't get me wrong, I have stayed in all kind of places and feel that I have appropriate expectations for levels of service depending on where I am. But I have been less disappointed with a $15 dorm room hostel that I had staying here. When you buy a package that is almost $700 CAD you expect a certain standard of service that was not here.

I've read in other responses from management that they simply say to stay in the newer, Banff location. I have. And it's beautiful. But what a cop out... this place has the potential to be amazing but needs updating and staff need to trained in the importance of quality service at an expensive resort.

So unbelievably disappointed. Just thankful that since last weekend I've been able to stop two friends booking trips here with their significant others.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Greetings,

We are very sorry to hear about the impression you were left with after visiting with us. We want all of our guests to have amazing experiences with us and apologize if your time with us didn't meet expectations. We are always working to improve and understand we have some areas where work needs to be done to ensure all of our guests are satisfied with the value for money. In regards to the customer service, we have let our Management Team know about this note as we want to ensure every guest feels heard, valued, and welcomed. Anything short of a perfect vacation for our guests is unacceptable to us and we will work towards ensuring these areas you've noted are improved upon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

very enjoyable but rustic and could use some TLC but harder to do in the quaint environment. Great when crowds cleared out after 6. hike around lake very worthwhile and a must do. We had our own kayak and thought the hourly canoes appeared pricey!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bjdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. The summer months are generally much busier, with the hotel being sold out every night of the week. The fall and winter are a much quieter time to visit and you will notice prices of the rooms are quite a bit lower as well - always a bonus! We hope to host you again soon to offer a more restful vacation. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The complete absence of acceptable levels of hospitality combined with an amazingly overpriced and run down hotel. That about sums it up. I highly recommend going for a hike around the lake and then avoiding the hotel entirely. I’ve never experienced such negative and disinterested staff, let alone when the prices are comparable to a multi-night stay at a Fairmont

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jamesd0ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for letting us know about your visit with us. We are very sorry to hear about the impression you were left with while visiting with us. We want to provide our guests with amazing vacation experiences and we are apologetic if your expectations were not met. We hope to make some positive changes and win back your favor in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Although pricey, this resort and location is one of the special places on earth that you need to experience. A true nature experience while still enjoying all the comforts and luxury that make it truly special. At night it is so quiet you can hear the waterfall across the lake 2 km away.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Calgary_Can_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Greetings,

Wow! Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so grateful you took the time to let us know about your positive experience. We hope to host you again in the future - you should check out the lodge in the winter months as it becomes a quiet winter wonderland! It's our favorite time of year at the lodge. Thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

I had been really looking forward to staying at the Emerald Lake Lodge, but I was very disappointed.
It is very dated & shabby in a non-charming way. Yes the location is amazing; the lake is stunning, but the accommodation is awful. Tiny room decorated in a lot of drab, dark brown colours with stained, marked & chipped furniture & woodwork. Depressing.
Earplugs were supplied & much needed; it rained during the night & the noise on the tin roof was so loud it was difficult to sleep.
There are uneven paths and wooden steps all around the site & up to the lodges, so would be difficult or impossible to access for some guests & those with heavy luggage. Also quite a lot of plants overgrown onto the paths.
You park your car off-site & catch the hotel shuttle up to the main building. Also note no safe, tv or wifi in the rooms.
There is an outdoor hot tub & a small area with 2 gym machines (1 was out of order)
At the time we stayed the tap water could not be used due to turbidity- bottles of water were provided for teeth cleaning etc. We were advised to boil the water but no kettle provided. (The water notice had been in place for over a month)

Plus points- location, fire place in the room, L'Occitane toiletries provided.

Overall a really badly maintained property representing very poor value for money. I stayed at 6 different hotels during our trip to the Canadian Rockies- this was the most expensive and the worst by far.
I would definitely not recommend or stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying with us. We are very sorry to hear about the impression you were left with after your experience. We want all of our guests to have memorable and seamless vacations, and we apologize if your expectations were not met throughout your visit. We have passed on your feedback to our Management Team as we take guest complaints and concerns very seriously, and want to do everything we can to remedy these issues. We hope to make some positive changes and host you again in the future to win back your favor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews