We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Planning our return to Trenanthia”
other travellers have booked this property
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Lots of space for water fights (sleeps 12) Sandy beach for sand castles, beach volleyball & horseshoes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
73 reviews
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Lots of space for water fights (sleeps 12)
Sandy beach for sand castles, beach volleyball & horseshoes
Dock, sandy beach & pro volleyball net surrounded by forest & lake
Outdoor fire pit for sharing marshmallows, s'mores and ghost stories
Canoe, paddle boat & rowboats included - even great-grandma loved a good paddle (circa 1920)
Vintage games room with skee ball & more
Let off some steam in the lakeside barrel sauna
Catch lunch fishing with friends right off the end of the dock
Share the sunshine & good times with family & friends
Enjoy a drink by one of the two log fireplaces any time of the year
Wrap around deck with stair edging (no banisters to block the view)
Share a meal at the locally handmade harvest dining table
Living room #1 (forest-side) with a log fireplace, cathedral ceiling & skylights
Living room #2 (lakeside) with log fireplace and patio doors to the deck
Bright, lakeside kitchen with lots of room to dance, er, cook (super bright during the day)
The 'loonie bin' bedroom : queen size bed, skylight, en suite bathroom and hangin' space
The 'afternoon riser' bedroom : two twin beds (top tip: push 'em together to share)
The 'cabin' bedroom : queen size (too many bedrooms to show 'em all, stalk our website for more)
Lakeside hot tub open all year round!
Lakeside barrel sauna in the snow - wohooooo
Hot dogs in front of the fireplace (pets are welcome free of charge - bring 'em along :)
Enjoy family ice-hockey on the frozen lake
Throw a crazy snowpeople building competition
Frolic in the fall leaves (did we mention we're open all year round? lol)
Ahhhhh, go on, y'know ya wanna :)
Our looney, uh, friendly family would love to welcome you - see ya soon :)
Our logo, featuring Philomena the flying pig (and her tattoo :)
Winter wonderland
Lakeside hot tub, open all year 'round
Barrel sauna, open all year 'round
Here she is!
Fall colours from the dock
Back yard :)
Fab fishing!
Firepit frolicking!
Awwww
Queen bedroom with cathedral ceilings
Hang out space overlooking the lake
Twin bedroom (top tip: push 'em together to make a double)
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom (top tip: push 'em together to make a double)
Twin bedroom
Bunk bedroom
Bunk bedroom with tall cathedral ceilings
Queen bedroom
Queen bedroom, quirky closet
2 acres of lakeside loveliness
Pets welcome any time of year :)
Pets welcome any time of year :)
Vintage games room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Forest-side living room #1
Forest-side living room #1
Dining room
Wall of vintage tin signs
Lakeside living room #2
Lakeside living room #2
Two log burning fireplaces
Rainbows & unicorns (well, maybe not the unicorns part, lol)
2 acres to romp in!
Beautiful, bright night skies
Life is bigger :)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
17tkt
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Planning our return to Trenanthia”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Totally enjoyed our week at Trenanthia cottage with 3 generations of extended family (5 to 80 years old). Booking & paying were easy and questions were quickly answered before and during our stay.
The cottage property felt very private especially during the week (things got noticeably busier on the lake once the weekend approached and one neighbour spent a whole day mowing his lawn). It looks out onto a beautiful quiet bay. Sunset views over the lake were gorgeous! Being Finns, we enjoyed the good hot sauna, and also loved lounging in the hot tub watching fireflies flit overhead at night. The access road made for a nice walk or run for those of the group not in permanent lounge-mode. The 5-year old in the group made good use of the lovely sandy patch on the shore to make a sand city, and we went boating every day (canoe, paddle boat, rowboat) to explore the nooks and crannies of the quiet shallow lake. The water in mid-June was a bit chilly for swimming but we did it anyways (a bit weedy until you get out further, but fish habitat is always a good thing).
Inside, the cottage was roomy, comfortable, and well-equipped. We lacked for nothing and had room to be together or apart as needed. The back deck was our sunny home base for meals, snacks, drinks, reading and talking. The big table inside was great for our big family meals and for games.
Gravenhurst was nearby for groceries etc. and there were yummy pies and jams to be found at the roadside stands on the way back.
We're planning our trip to Trenanthia for next summer and are looking forward to another great relaxing, fun week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sauna, back deck, lake views, canoeing
Liked least: geese
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Yay for sauna steam! Tell all your Finnish friends... Now if only the rest of the world wold catch on to the relaxing (and detoxifying) joys of the sauna.

Let me know when you're heading our way and we'll make sure there's a little sparkle for your next cottage vacation.

Cheers,
the whole Trenanthia gang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rompin R
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“October is the perfect time to visit the cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Arrived with in laws and cousins from the UK. The intent was to visit Muskoka in the fall. We were not disappointed, the leaves were out in full force. The drive into the cottage was amazing with all the leaves being in full colour!

Cottage was the perfect spot for a fall retreat, able to have fires outside and inside. The fires made for a perfect fall experience. The layout of the cottage was very comfortable for my 85 year old in-laws.

Cottage was clean. Unfortunately, time did not permit use of the hot tub or sauna.

Very spacious and great for large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Yay, glad we could provide the setting for this family reunion and share our little slice of heaven. Fall really is best up in Muskoka and so colourful with the leaves changing and the sunsets over the lake.
Just gimme a buzz when you're ready to come up for a soak in the new hot tub and we'll make it happen :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launabel...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Retreat for any occasion!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband, myself, along with our adult children, grandma/ grandpa & our 6 year old granddaughter (11 of us) altogether enjoyed our Thanksgiving weekend!
The lake house itself was cozy & comfortable, yet very spacious!! The decor is fun, unique, clean & well stocked. We could not have been happier with the accommodations! In addition, the booking process was a delight! Rachel was so patient & prompt with all inquiries! We had a very thoughtful welcome gift waiting for us and when we had a minor issue, it was addressed immediately. We took advantage of the " Lake side drive inn" & it was a real treat! I would definitely recommend this escapade! So much fun! We will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space - indoor and out
Liked least: Wood was a little expensive,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and made some memories along the way :) The Lakeside Drive-In really is a treat isn't it. Can't wait to have you back... I'll start looking for some new movies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfamily56...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Awesome location! Great owners”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Awesomeness:

- The location is unbeatable. Situated between Orillia and Gravenhurst, the cottage is in a quiet portion of the bay. It was perfect for large groups/pets and for boating, swimming and fishing off the dock. If you want to go into town to get food/supplies/worms, Gravenhurst is only a 20 mins drive north (Cdn Tire, Sobeys, restaurants). So you have the best of both worlds.

- The owners are very kind, friendly and humourous. They kept excellent communication throughout the booking process. During a power outage at the cottage, Lorna even came to visit to check out the issue while bringing us extra flashlights. Tip: tap water is pulled directly from the lake via a pump. If the power ever goes out, you will also lose water pressure so there's no toilet flushing or washing water.

- Kitchen is well stocked with utensils, plates, cups and basic cooking supplies.

- Plenty of bedrooms, washrooms and common area space. Large deck and cottage chairs for roasting marshmallows.

- Great selection of board games and surprisingly there are electronics (DVD player, DVDs, Nintendo Wii) too if you're so inclined. We played pictionary and laughed until our stomachs hurt.

- Good facilities: canoe, row boat and paddle boat available for use. Adult-sized life jackets are also on-site. Never used the sauna or hot tub but they are available for use as well.

- Beautiful view of starry nights on clear days

Only cons we could think of:

- We had to use one-ply toilet paper :)

- Two window/door air conditioning units (one downstairs, one upstairs in master bedroom) make for some hot nights in the other rooms on warm days. On the positive side, there were lots of fans available. Tip: if you cross breeze them correctly, you can get some cooler air flowing.

- Wi-fi was a tad un-stable - though that's kinda what you expect in cottage country. But more accurately, the wireless signal itself is constant. But the router loses connection with the internet quite often. Tip: turn power off router, wait 2 mins, then turn it back on to reset the internet connection. That'll be good for another 30 mins or so.

- Requirement to clean the cottage after a enjoyable week was a real bummer :) We woke early and spent a good 4-5 hours cleaning before checkout time make sure the cottage was in better shape than we left it. Tips: start early and be organized (there's a binder on the table which contains the checklist).

- A big turtle (who might live under the dock) ate one of our fishes that we were going to have for dinner.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Hey hey,

Thanks so much for all the feedback D, and for taking the time to write it. We’re gonna pull some cottage country strings and see what we can do to improve even more.

You folks rocked, so hope to see ya up here again soon!

All the best, Rachel and the rest of us at the cottage :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service, scammers”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was falsely advertised. Very rude people after booking is done. I arrived a bit early because I thought traffic was going to be really bad to get there and I was told to leave and come back at 4pm and not a minute before that.

There is no pool table or dart board/game room. The water comes directly from the lake and they do not provide any appropriate water. They took over $300 from my security deposit for rearranging the patio chairs that we left arranged around the fire pit. The bbq was dirty when we got it and yet we were charged for them cleaning it. The back cover of the DVD remote was not there when we rented it but yet we are being charged for it. They had to rake some pebbles from the sand in one small corner where the toddlers where playing and we got charged for it. We were charged for ridiculous stuff and yet we had vacuumed the whole house, swiped down everything and they have a cleaning crew after people leave and yet we are being charged for this. They charge so much for this cottage and they can’t do the basic cleaning, so not right!! Would not recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Being charged a ridiculous amount of money for basic house cleaning after we left.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Gosh, that hurts. We put a lot of love & care into the cottage and her guests - both the current guests and the next folks coming in after ya. We welcome guests to enjoy themselves to the max while also being respectful of the space and to leave her in good shape so the next group can enjoy their own vacation.

I’m bummed that your concerns may have sullied your vacation this summer. And sad that we weren't able to discuss it all on the phone as I'd hoped. I wish you the best in your future cottage getaways though M!

(Oh, and yeah, the games room is a brand new addition - wohooo! - wasn’t there when you stayed.)

All the best,
Rachel and the rest of us at the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing