We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Maison 1890

Maison 1890
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Restaurant- traiteur- Boutique - Pret-a-mangerRestaurant-Catering - Boutique -Take out
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We visited here because of the 5 star reviews and were not disappointed. Fair choice for a lunch menu with top quality food and competitive value for money. Busy restaurant but still attentive service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

I've spent time in Ste Agathe since my early childhood but don't recall there being any fine dining choices as an adult. I thus had high expectations for Maison 1890 in view of favorable reviews on TripAdvisor. Moreover, our friends had enjoyed eating there recently and chose to reserve for all of us.
From the positive point of view, the ambience is lovely, with crisp white linen table cloths and napkins in a charming and comfortable room. The service is very friendly, attentive and helpful. Our smiling waitress offered tastes of wines served by the glass until we found one that was highly suitable. The onion soup was tasty, if a bit thin. The wine flavor (sherry?) and cheese topping were lovely. The soup of the day, minestrone, was also very tasty. However, our mains were disappointing.
The veal chop was ordered medium rare and was served well done. My wife regrets not sending it back due to the late hour. The accompanying pappardelle noodles were rather bland. My confit of duck salad was hugely disappointing. It was served warm but dried out due to overcooking. The portion size was "interesting" as it consisted of the leg alone, attached to the thigh bone. The latter was clean, as if the meat had either fallen off, or gave the appearance of being already eaten? Either was, an eighth of a duck on green lettuce for 28$ seems to be unfair. The salad itself was also a disappointment, with non-descript dressing and a lack of other tasty vegetable ingredients or croutons. The cod fish was very decent, although the pureed vegetable sides were just passable.For dessert, we shared a chocolate sundae, which was delicious.
To say that we left disappointed in the food value is an understatement, Given the almost uniformly highly favorable reviews by others, I'm willing to consider that we hit an off night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania C, Propriétaire at Maison 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Thetraveldoc, Thank you for your review and for writing your impressions about what you have experienced at Maison 1890... We sincerely regret that we were not up to your expectations that night. We hope that one day, you will offer us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Very best regards, Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This is the best restaurant in Ste. Agathe des Monts, bar none I can think of. The service is excellent and the food is delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterEMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Attended for a dinner celebration. Outstanding, attentive and friendly service, pleasant atmosphere and of course, a beautifully prepared dinner. My compliments to all for a memorable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 220joez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant very often since they opened, and they are just getting and better. We were a group of 6 for Saturday night dinner and the food and service were excellent! We all enjoyed our cod, flank steak, beef Wellington, couscous and steak dinners. Everything was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. The staff are always friendly, highly recommend this restaurant.

Thank Alyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison 1890 also viewed

Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Maison 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing