We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perefct in everyway - Faultless”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SussexTra...
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perefct in everyway - Faultless”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Perfect location. Wonderfully spacious cottage. Fabulous outlook. Peaceful at a dead end road. Pub 5 min walk away. Perfect for the dogs to run in the garden and lots of nearby walks including the best castle in England at Bodiam. The cottage kitchen has every utensil you would need. Great coffee machine. All the white goods. Comfy beds. Comfy sofas. VERY efficient heating and very hot water at an instant. Solid wood fuel burner . SKY TV, DVD player.......the only thing that didn't work was the radio....not the end of the world! A huge thank you for the cake, bread, eggs and jam for brealkfast!! Awesome customer service. Terri and team were magnificent with all their communications, and keeping a well manged and spotlessly clean property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and attention to detail of the extent of provisions in the cottage
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry about the radio. I think we will change from digital as it doesn't always get a signal.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyofth...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property was so well equipped and spotlessly clean, very comfortable and beautifully furnished.
We had great welcome and very friendly staff.
The Castle inn is 5 minute stroll away and dog friendly, their menu is varied and they are so well organised they can cater for large groups of people, nice place to eat.
We enjoyed sitting in the old cricket pavilion garden, relaxing and looking for the little owl who lives in the barn.
So many places of interest nearby, I thoroughly recommend this property , our only regret was , we didn't book for 2 weeks, we did not want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, tranquility and friendly hosts
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. we are delighted you enjoyed your stay . We hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bowled us over!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely place with everything you could want there. Clean and cosy. Terrie even made sure lights were on for us when we arrived late. Lovely goodies as well. Great views towards the steam train. Quiet lane for walking dogs with a choice of walks straight from door. Would recommend but would love to keep this place a secret so it would always be available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Many Thanks for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your dogs back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperky197...
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING, FANTASTIC, BEAUTIFUL, DIDNT WANT TO LEAVE.....”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I cannot praise this property enough. It is amazing and just what we were looking for. Terrie the owner is a great host and suggested this property to us last year when we stayed at another of their properties. We were looking for quiet, tranquil and peace in the countryside without being a million miles form amenities should we want anything. The cricket Pavilion fitted the brief perfectly. I had my mother and husband and 6 year old son plus our dog Molly with me and our long weekend felt like an eternity. It consisted of playing, feeding the nearby pigs, building fairy houses, visiting the castle grounds for a picnic which doesn't cost anything, walks in the sunshine, watching the steam trains arrive in Bodiam Station across the fields, watching the wildlife which our highlight was the barn owl hunting in the field to the rear of the pavilion on evening which is a treat I haven't seen since my childhood in Sussex. We arrived home on Monday and I had booked another long weekend for next year by Monday afternoon. 5 star on everything and we will be back next June. Thank you x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and welcome pack
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you found the pavilion to be your perfect retreat. Thanks also for next years booking. we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonopolyS...
Essex, England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PERFECT ALL ROUND.......CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What an amazing pavilion that has been converted. Sleeps 6. Stunning location. Hosts are amazing beyond words. The pavilion was spotlessly clean, welcoming and incredibly homely. Has everything you require, literally like home from home. You are welcome with a tasty homemade cake, a loaf, butter, freshly laid eggs from their own chickens, cheese and milk. The comfort is outstanding.

There's a microwave, dishwasher and washing machine, outdoor and indoor airers. Outside is a gorgeous summer house, a patio table and chairs and bbq.

It has its own garden....which is huge and was brilliant for our dog to run around in and play with the kids!!!

Everything about it was perfect and I sincerely didn't want to go home. I cant wait to go back. A short walk from The Castle Pub and its over the road from Bodiam Castle. The walk through the vineyards is wonderful and you can meet the horses, piggies, chickens and cows.

Terrie and Mike who run this are the perfect host. If you need anything they are on the scene in a flash, mind you, we didn't need anything! Cant thank them enough for helping me and my kids have the most wonderful stay.

I cant recommend this beautiful place enough, you will not be disappointed. If you go, have a wonderful time :D

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the pavilion to be a special place for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing