We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scduthie
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Cricket Pavilion has been beautifully renovated and is in a fantastic location with wonderful views. We stayed for two nights for a friend's 40th birthday and brought along our two dogs. There is a sunny and large secure garden which the dogs loved and every evening we'd walk around the grounds of Bodium Castle (5mins away) and have the whole place to ourselves.

What I really liked about the place is it's suitability for all seasons. The first night we had a BBQ in the garden and enjoyed the sunshine and alfresco dining. The following night (typically, as the British summer weather took a drastic turn for the worse) we equally enjoyed relaxing in the lounge with the large log burner keeping us warm.

I highly recommend the Old Cricket Pavilion and we will certainly be returning soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So close to the beautiful Bodium Castle
Liked least: I could only get mobile phone signal at the end of the lane but depends on your network
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the area and the faciities in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Daniel2
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous, peaceful and glorious home from home.”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Old Cricket Pavilion, which was clean and tidy and the added touch of a cake, fresh bread and eggs waiting for us was really nice.

We took our dog and there are so many walks to go on, especially by the river which runs not far behind the cottage, Bodiam Castle is literally on you door step, also Hastings, Battle and Rye are but a short drive away.

The area was very quiet and peaceful, the cottage had all mod cons you would get at home and we would thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log fire
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g
exeter
1 review
“Another enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Another enjoyable holiday at the Cricket Pavilion, everything was perfect as normal, but with the added bonus of Christmas decorations, which put us in a festive mood ready for our visit to see Santa at Bodiam Castle!! Thanks Terrie for making the Pavilion so welcoming for our arrival, we're already making plans for next years visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted your family enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view through the window as the sun rose
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Dec 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted your family enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa Y
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, wonderful property, fully equipped.”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The Old Cricket Pavillion is a fantastic place in a really lovely location. It is really clean and the best equipped self catering property we have ever stayed in. The owner provided everything you could possibly need, and even a welcome homemade cake which is such a lovely touch. There was coffee, tea sugar, fresh bead as well, which were such lovely things to provide when you first arrive and you haven't unpacked. The property is light and airy with a lovely garden and breathtaking views, you can even see the Steam train from the kitchen table. We found so many things to do and places to go, they would be too numerous to list here, but there is a vast folder of info anyway which the owner has provided. Definitely a lovely break and Terrie the owner was also really warm and had thought of everything that you need on a self catering holiday. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to mention in one sentance
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing