We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RugbyRuth...
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We decided to stay here after reading other good reviews about this property and were so so pleased that we did. The owner was very welcoming and baked a cake for us and left us fresh eggs from her farm. The place was spotless and the owner took great pride in her work. Having a young baby the second bedroom was a huge plus for us as it meant that we did not have to sleep in the same room as him so that we got some sleep! This place would also be perfect for a family of four and the sofa bed in the living room could also be used if you have a larger family.

The setting was the best thing about the accommodation. It overlooks a peaceful field full of sheep and you can also see the local steam railway. There is a great local pub at the end of the road and Bodiam castle and access to the railway is a 5 minute walk away. Walkers would like the fact that it lies on a quiet walking track.

I really can't think of anything that lets down this property!

Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that the cottage ticked the right boxes for you and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buster85
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL HOLIDAY LET A REAL HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We booked a weeks stay at the Old Cricket Pavilion and we completely fell in love with it. The views were outstanding and the house was absolutely spotless. The house was extremely well equipped, anything that you would need is there. Terri really had thought of everything. On arrival there was a welcome pack with tea, coffee, fresh bread, fresh eggs from the farm and Terri had even baked a cake which was gorgeous. Prior to coming I had booked my on-line shop with Sainsbury's and Terri was there to take delivery of it and put our shopping away for us. I will definitely be booking the Old Cricket Pavilion when we next come back to England it was without a doubt one of the best holiday homes that I have ever stayed in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodiam
Ontinyent
1 review
“The perfect rural cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We are a Spanish family who have spent 10 days in that wonderful house. It's been a fantastic stay in an idilic place. The Old Cricket Pavillion is very confortable and it is equiped with everything you may think on. Being so close to the farm has offered us great views, animals...
We hope to see you again soon! XXX

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in October.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcs1300
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW - What a find!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I spent the weekend with 3 other friends for a girlie weekend away from the kids and husbands! It really was a superb retreat with everything plus more that you would need. We were warmly welcomed by Terrie the owner, and found all our Tesco shop put away and ready for us - what service!
Terrie had left us a tasty homemade cake, eggs, bread, tea, coffee, sugar and milk making us feel welcome the minute we arrived.
All the beds were made up with towels left out ready. We were delighted with the ipod station and the big TV and DVD player - great for watching chick flicks and listening to our choice of music. If we wanted to chill even more there were a selection of books and games to use.
The cottage is set in the most beautiful surroundings. Whilst it has its own enclosed garden with a summer house and gardern furniture the views further afield are stunning. In the distance you can see the steam train going past and hear the sheep in the top field. It really is a place to relax and chill. 5 min walk to the pub is perfect for a lunch and beer and then across the road leads you to Bodiam Castle - great for a wander and picnic.
We had a fantastic time and felt the cottage was unique and great value for money. We have already booked up for October and it wouldn't surprise me if the bookings start to come through fast and furious (only opened in May).
Oh and you can take your dog too!!
A perfect weekend away - just wish we could have stayed longer (Terrie let us stay well after check out time on the Sunday as she had not guests arrving until the Monday - a very kind gesture).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport UK
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing