We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
US$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/08
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$100
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 503)
Filter reviews
1 503 results
Traveller rating
806
511
123
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
806
511
123
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun square value for money monte casino excellent service great stay enjoyable stay tsogo sun rooms are clean easy access family and friends cake montecasino piazza date business teatro toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1 503 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2020

The air conditioning in the room can be greatly improved. Did not work much at all. The rooms are very small but practical. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast included in the room rate was excellent(buffet breakfast with more than enough to choose from).

The bedding was clean and comfortable also the room. The wifi available although complimentary is unfortunately capped at 500Meg. That is unfortunate, because the in room entertainment(TV and DSTV) is very limited in channels. So you can’t even really use the wifi to stream Netflix, Dstv Now or Showmax.

Overall it was a great stay, but I would recommend not staying more than 2-3 nights as the room can become very small for lengthy stays.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank charel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puroshini N, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Dear Charel2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at SunSquare Montecasino.

We are glad that your overall experience has been good. Thank you for recognizing our team members, I will share your feedback with them. If you join as a Tsogo Sun Rewards member, you will be able to enjoy uncapped WIFI to connect up to 5 devices, you may join at the reception desk or you can contact the hotel to sign up when making your future bookings. We will look into the air-conditioning in the room that you have stayed in.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Some reviews complain about the beds being to small for two people, this was our concern when we arrived.

However you need to be the size of half an Elephant for this to be a problem, two normal people ( I am 6") can quite easy sleep in these beds.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ian_Easton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puroshini N, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear Ian_Easton

Thank you for sharing your experience at SunSquare Montecasino.

I am extremely glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay!! You are quite right that our beds can easy accommodate for 2 adults as we do offer a queen size bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

Rooms are nice but whoever designed them, clearly feel no need for bathroom privacy. There is no divider between bathroom and bedroom. You feel like you are doing your toilet business in the middle of the room. Also - no light in toilet so you have to turn on lights in whole room to go to toilet at night unless you use your phone torch. Would not stay here with my partner. I can only imagine how embarrassing it would be to get a tummy bug whilst sharing a room in this hotel. Also, we had one tiny shower gel to share, no shampoo, lotion etc. A bit cheap for a 4 star hotel. No teabags in room either. Mini bar was empty. Breakfast acceptable but no more.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank aanton437613
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puroshini N, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear aanton437613

Thank you for sharing your experience at SunSquare Montecasino.

We appreciate your feedback regards to the design of the room and will share your feedback with our hotel development team to consider with future projects.

As SunSquare Montecasino is a 3 star select service hotel, amenities are offered as a 3 in 1 shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. We do offer additional amenities on request as well as the mini is stocked only on prior arrangements with the hotel.

We trust that you will chose SunSquare Montecasino for your future travels, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

Very good hotel clean, convenient, lovely staff, I love this hotel. But the food from the restaurant was not nice at all. And it is overprices. I ordered dish after dish but not to my satisfaction. No salt or pepper with the food which was bland.,

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 889carmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puroshini N, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear 889carmen

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at SunSquare Montecasino.

We are glad that we have met and exceeded your expectations in terms of our hotel offering.
Our Food & Beverage Manager who has made contact with you telephonically has shared the feedback with our Executive Chef and we will address the points that you have raised.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

Hotel very good, stuff excelent, used the pool on side hotel, the man from reception called a golf car to take us.

Internet very bad, disconnect all the time, my phone and my wifes phone.

Speed not so good internet.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank ILM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puroshini N, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear ILM1

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at SunSquare Montecasino.

We are glad that your overall experience has been great. The issues that you have experienced with the WIFI has been communicated to our service provider to look into and I do apologize for the frustration that this caused you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews